UK Elections

All the 650 constituencies of the United Kingdom will hold the 2010 General Election on the sixth of May this year. The election will be held in all the constituencies to elect the candidate who will become the member of the Parliament. In the previous election in the year 2005, the number of seats was 646 and now it has increased by four to become a total of 650 seats. On May 6th this year, local election will also be held in some areas along with the general election along with the united Kingdom General Election.

Timeline for the 2010 Election

On Tuesday, 6th of April, the Prime Minister Gordon Brown visited the queen to ask to dissolve the parliament for the next general election and he also announced to the press the General Election Date of May 6th. The parliament finishes its important business and rushed through the final few bills in the "wash up" session from April 6 to 8.

On April 12 the parliament was dissolved, this marks the period during which the ministers and civil servants follows the guidelines such that they do not use their position for the advantage of the political party.

April 20 will be the last day for the candidate to hand over their nomination paper, it is also the last date to register the names on electoral roll to be able to vote on may 6thand it also marks the last day to request for postal vote. The last day to apply for proxy vote will be on the 27th of April.

The Election Day falls on the 6th of May and the vote should be cast at the voting booth between 7 am to 10 pm. The election results from the entire 650 constituency would be declared by late evening the very next day, the 7th May.

The parliament will be summoned on the 18th of May and the New MPs will arrive to be sworn in. The 12 day gap period between the declaration of results and the first parliament meeting, different from the usual six days period, is to give more time for the new MPs to prepare for the parliamentary service.

On April 15 the first televised debate between the leaders of the three major Political Parties who are Gordon Brown, David Cameroon and Nick Clegg took place. This debate focused on the domestic affairs was aired by ITV channel. On 22nd April, the Sky TV airs the second debate on the topic foreign affair. The third debate will be held on the 29th of April on the theme Economy and the BBC channel will air this debate.

Political Parties Contesting in 2010 Election and Their Leaders

Labour Party

The governing party, the Labour Party will be looking forward to secure the seat in the office for the fourth consecutive time in the U K election. In the last election (2005), this party won in 356 constituencies which accounted for more than 35 % of the popular British votes.

Gordon Brown is the leader of the Labour party and is competing for the title of Prime minister for the first time this year. He was first elected as the M P for Dunfermline East in the year 1983 and has been the member of the Parliament since then in 2005he became the MP for Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath. He became the prime minister on 24 June 2007, which was after the former Prime Minister Tony Blair resigned from the post of the PM. Three days later, on 27 June 2007 he became the leader of the Labour party and has remained the leader of the governing Labour Party since then.

The Conservative and the Unionist Party

This Party is most commonly called the conservative Party and was in the government in the major portion of the twentieth century and it became the official opposition since losing the election to labour Party in the year 1997. It has the second largest number of M Ps in the parliament and last year they had a total of 198 seats in the parliament and were just a few points behind the Labour Party with 32.3 % of the vote.

This year the conservative party will compete to regain its dominance and replace the labour party as the governing party. The head of the conservative party and the leader of the opposition is David Cameron who became the leader on December 6th 2005 replacing Michel Howard after they lost the election in 2005. David Cameron was elected as the M P for Oxford shire constituency of Whitney in the year 2001. This is the first time he is competing for the post of prime minister.

The Liberal Democrat Party

The third largest party in the United Kingdom is the Liberal Democrat Party or the Lib Dems. This party was formed in the year 1988 by merging two parties; the liberal party and the Socio Democratic Party. In the election to be held on May 6th 2010 they are competing with the hope to gain from both sides and to hold the balance of power in the hung parliament where no political party has an upright majority. In the last election the Liberal democrat won 62 out of the total 646 seats.

Nick William Peter Clegg was elected the leader of the liberal democrat party on 18 December 2007 succeeding Sir Menzies Campbell. Nick Clegg was first elected as the member of European Parliament (MEP) from East Midlands in the year1999. Later in 2005 general election, he became the M P from Sheffield Hallam. It is also the first election to be faced by Nick Clegg as a prime minister.

This is the first time after the 1979 election that the three main party of the United Kingdom is going into the general election with new leaders.

Other parties besides the three major political parties are also competing in this year's election. The Scottish national Party from Scotland, The Plaid Cymru from Wales, Respect: the Unity Coalition and Health Concern from England are some of the party with representation in the 2005 general election, which are also competing this year. Many more minor party are also competing for the MP seats this year and those includes Democratic Unionist Party, Sinn Fein, Social Democratic and Labour party, and  Ulster Unionist party.