Sudan Maps

Sudan is located in North Africa, bordered by seven countries with Khartoum as its capital. Sudan is a member of United Nations, African Union, the Arab League, the Organization of Islamic Cooperation, and the Non-Aligned Movement. Besides, Sudan also serves as an observer in the World Trade Organization.

Sudan is one of the fastest growing economies in the world with agriculture production (employing 80% of the workforce) being the most important sector for the economy and oil being the main export.


Location: Located in Northeastern Africa

Geographic coordinates: 15°00′N 30°00′E

Area: Total Area: 967,494 sq miles (2,505,813 sq km)

Total Area occupied by Land: 917 sq miles (2,376 sq km)

Total Area occupied by Water: 50,121 sq miles (129,813 sq km)

Coastline: 530 miles (853 km)

Horizontal Width: 719.71 miles (1158.26 km) from Nyala east to Gedaref

Vertical Length: 559.29 miles (900.09 km) from Wadi Halfa south to Kusti

Border Countries: (7) Central African Republic, Chad, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Libya and South Sudan

Geographic Center: About 138.92 miles (223.57 km) east of Omdurman

Highest Point: Deriba Caldera 9,980 ft (3,042 m)

Lowest Point: Red Sea 0 m

Religion: Islam


  • Tropical weather conditions in the south are observed in the deserts of the North for most of the year.
  • Average temperatures for the country in the summer: 105°F (41°C)
  • Average temperatures for the country in the winter: 59°F (15°C)

Natural Resources:

The major natural resource of Sudan is Petroleum. Besides, Sudan has huge deposits of chromium ore, copper, iron ore, mica, silver, gold, tungsten and zinc.


The White Nile and Blue Nile are the significant rivers which join together in Khartoum to form the River Nile. The Nile River dives the Sudan into eastern and western halves that runs straight through Egypt and drains into the Mediterranean Sea.

The two rivers namely Dinder and Rahad are tributaries of the Blue Nile - whose course winds through Sudan at a length of nearly 497 miles (800 km).

Land Divisions: There are 17 states in Sudan. They are

  • Al Bahr al Ahmar (Red Sea)
  • Al Jazira (Gezira)
  • Al Khartoum (Khartoum)
  • Al Qadarif (Gedaref)
  • An Nil al Abyad (White Nile)
  • An Nil al Azraq (Blue Nile)
  • Ash Shimaliyya (Northern)
  • Gharb Darfur (Western Darfur)
  • Janub Darfur (Southern Darfur)
  • Janub Kurdufan (Southern Kordofan)
  • Kassala
  • Nahr an Nil (River Nile)
  • Sharq Darfur (Eastern Darfur)
  • Shimal Darfur (Northern Darfur)
  • Shimal Kurdufan (Northern Kordofan)
  • Sinnar
  • Wasat Darfur (Central Darfur)


The countryside of Sudan has flat plains with several mountain ranges that occur at intervals like The Marrah Mountains and Deriba Caldera. The marrah mountains, known to have the highest point of the country and Deriba Caldera (Deriba Crater) located at the western edge of the country, Darfur at 9,980 ft (3,042 m measures between 3-4 miles (5-8 km) in diameter from the outer edges. Apart from Deriba Caldera, the Red Sea Hills are located on the northeastern edge.

sudan map
Map of Sudan