Niger Maps

The Republic of Niger, widely known as Niger is located in western Africa.  The country is named after the Niger River. Niger is bounded by Nigeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Mali, Algeria, Libya and Chad. Niger spreads over an area of 1,270,000 square kilometres, making it the largest West African country. Sahara desert covers around 80% of the land area. Niamey is the capital and largest city of Niger. French is the official language. The country is home to 10,790,352 people.  Hausa, Fulfulde, Gulmancema, Kanuri, Zarma and Tamasheq are the national languages of Niger.

Niger Administrative Divisions

Niger includes 7 Regions and one capital district. Niamey is the capital district. The following are the seven regions of Niger.

  • Agadez Region
  • Diffa Region
  • Dosso Region
  • Maradi Region
  • Tahoua Region
  • Tillabéri Region
  • Zinder Region

Major Cities of Niger

Niamey, Zinder, Maradi and Agadez are the major cities of Niger.

Lakes of Niger

Lake Chad is the major lake in Niger.

Mountains of Niger

Mountains of Niger include Aïr Mountains, Blue Mountains and Mont Idoukal-n-Taghès. Mont Idoukal-n-Taghès which has an elevation of 6,634 ft is the highest point in Niger and the lowest point is the Niger River.

Nigerien Rivers

Major rivers of niger include Atakora River, Goulbi de Maradi River, Mékrou River, Niger River, Sirba River, Tapoa River, Vallée de l'Ahzar and Yobe River. The Niger River, which is 4,180 km long, is the third longest river in Africa.

Oases of Niger

Aouderas, Bilma, Dabaga, Fachi, Iferouane, In-Gall, Séguedine and Timia are the oases of Niger.

Niger Pictures

niger map
Map of Niger