Myanmar Maps

Myanmar, officially the republic of the union of Myanmar is colloquially known as Burma.  It is a Southeast Asian country bordered by the Andaman Sea, the Bay of Bengal, Bangladesh, Thailand, India and China.

  • Myanmar is home to more than 58.8 million people. This makes it the 24th most populous country in the world.
  • The country spreads over an area of 676,578 square kilometres, making it the 40th largest country in the world.
  • Myanmar is the second largest country in Southeast Asia.
  • Naypyidaw is the capital of Myanmar.
  • Myanmar is a Unitary Presidential republic.
  • Burmese is the official language of Myanmar.

Myanmar Administrative Divisions

For administrative purpose Myanmar is divided into 7 regions and 7 states. They are Sagaing Region, Tanintharyi Region, Bago Region, Magway Region, Mandalay Region, Ayeyarwady Region, Yangon Region, Shan State, Mon State, Raphine State, Kachin State, Kayah State, Kayin State and Chin State.

Myanmar Cities

Yangon, Mandalay, Mawlamyine, Bago, Pathein, Monywa, Akyab, Taunggyi, Meiktila, Mergui, Lashio, Pyay, Henzada, Myingyan and Dawei are the major cities of Myanmar. Yangon, also known as Rangoon, is the largest city in this country.

Myanmar Mountain Ranges

Rakhine Yoma, the Bago Yoma, and the Shan Plateau are the three mountain ranges that exist within Myanmar. Hkakabo Razi which is at 5,881 m, is the highest point in Myanmar and the lowest point is the Andaman Sea.

Myanmar Rivers

Myanmar's three river systems include the Irrawaddy, Salween also known as Thanlwin and the Sittaung rivers. Burma's longest river is the Irrawaddy River, which is nearly 2,170 kilometres long.

Myanmar Pictures

Major lakes of Myanmar include Indawgyi Lake, Inle Lake, Inya Lake, Kandawgyi Lake, Meiktila Lake, Moe Yin Gyi Reservoir and Lake of No Return.

Myanmar Map
Map of Myanmar