Illinois Law and Government

Illinois Law and Government

The state administration of Illinois is formed keeping in mind the central administration with revisions of the constitution initiating from customs cultured during the initial days of the state. Springfield is the capital city of Illinois. According to the Constitution of 1970, there are three divisions of government: administrative, parliamentary and court. The administrative division is divided into quite a lot of designated bureau all across the state. Governmental roles are fixed with the Illinois General Assembly, which consists of the 118 member Illinois House of Legislative Body and the Illinois Senate having 59 members. The court system is made up of the Supreme Court of Illinois, Illinois Appellate Court and Illinois Circuit Courts.

The foremost capitol construction was in Kaskaskia, Illinois. It was a two floored brick edifice that had a rent of $4 per day.

Vandalia was the subsequent capital city in 1820, and was the location of three capitol construction. The first capitol structure of Vandalia was a plain structure having two floors, which was damaged by fire. In the year 1824, the second capitol of Vandalia was constructed to substitute the burnt structure and it had the cost of about $15,000. Shortly after the third capitol structure was constructed, a lot of Illinoisans started to feel that the capital should be in such a location which was central to the state. In the year of 1833, the General Assembly reacted by passing a resolution agreeing to Illinoisans to select their capital city. This concerned the citizens of Vandalia, who were not willing to change the capital city. As a result, in the year 1836, with no approval from the General Assembly, the city smashed away the third capitol structure and substituted it with the fourth one, a brick state quarters, which had a cost of $16,000. In spite of all this, in the year 1839, voters chose Springfield, Illinois as the final capital city of Illinois, and it is the same even to the current days.

The fifth capitol structure of Illinois was constructed in the town of Springfield in the year 1853 costing about $260,000. Erection of the sixth, and current capitol, was started in the year 1868. The edifice took twenty years to get completed at a cost of $4.5 million.

Illinois Officials

The following heirchy of officials are observed in the state of Illinois

  1. Governor
  2. Lieutenant Governor
  3. Secretary of State
  4. Attorney General
  5. Comptroller/ Auditor (before 1972)
  6. Treasurer
  7. State Senate
  8. State House of Representatives
  9. State delegation to the U.S. Senate
  10. State delegation to the U.S. House of Representatives

The persons in the current office are as under:

Governor of Illinois

Pat Quinn (Democratic Party)

Lieutenant Governor of Illinois:


Attorney General of Illinois:

Lisa Madigan (Democratic Party)

Illinois Secretary of State:

Jesse White (Democratic Party)

Illinois Comptroller:

Daniel Hynes (Democratic Party)

Illinois Treasurer:

Alexi Giannoulias (Democratic Party)

Senior United States Senator:

Dick Durbin (Democratic Party)

Junior United States Senator:

Roland Burris (Democratic Party)

Illinois Departments

The names of various departments under the Government of Illinois are as under

  1. Illinois Department of Child Justice
  2. Illinois Department of Employment
  3. Illinois Department of Natural Resources
  4. Illinois Department of Civic Health
  5. Illinois Department of Revenue
  6. Illinois Department of Transportation
  7. Illinois Department of Veterans Affairs
  8. Illinois Department on Aging
  9. Illinois Emergency Management Agency
  10. Illinois Environmental Protection Agency
  11. Illinois Finance Authority
  12. Illinois Gaming Board
  13. Illinois Historic Conservation Agency
  14. Illinois Housing Development Authority
  15. Illinois Judicial Investigation Board
  16. Illinois Liquor Control Commission
  17. Illinois Office of Appellate Defender
  18. Illinois Office of Appellate Prosecutor
  19. Illinois Office of the Attorney General
  20. Illinois Office of the Auditor General
  21. Illinois Office of the Comptroller
  22. Illinois Office of the Governor
  23. Illinois Office of the Lieutenant Governor
  24. Illinois Office of Management and Financial plan
  25. Illinois Office of the Secretary of State
  26. Illinois Office of the State Treasurer
  27. Illinois State Board of Education
  28. Illinois State Police
  29. Illinois State Toll Highway Authority
  30. Illinois Supreme Court

Illinois Law Enforcement

In the year 2000, Illinois was at the 4th ranking in the entire United States in the terms of number of full time avowed officials with 321 in every 100,000 persons, though the leaders were Louisiana with 415 officials per 1000,000, New York with 384 officials per 1000,000, and New Jersey with 345 officials per 1000,000. In this rank chart, just New York had more total number of inhabitants compared to Illinois. Not only this, Illinois is also almost close to the pinnacle in the majority lists of law enforcement organizations, for example number of organizations per state, number of organizations with exceptional control, and number of local police organizations. Noting the fact that Illinois is ranked fifth in the rankings of the total number of states, a lot of the fractions are high than some other states having more population. There is much overlap in the area of command among the law enforcement organizations.

All across the state, there are no less than eleven law enforcement organizations. At the province level, there are sheriffs, forest conservation police and other dedicated police forces. At the local stage, the majority of the cities and a lot of villages have municipal police department, park region police department, and even local dedicated police department. A lot of colleges too, have their individual university ground police.