Europe Maps

Among the seven continents of the world Europe occupies the sixth position in size. It spreads over an area of 9,938,000 sq km which comes around 1% of the earth’s surface area and 6.8% of earth’s land area. It is the third most populous continent of the world. Russia's Ural Mountains and the Caspian and Black Seas separate the European continent from Asia. It is the Mediterranean Sea that divides Europe from Africa.


Europe includes 50 recognized sovereign states, 4 partially recognized sovereign states, 2 unrecognized sovereign states and 6 dependent territories. Europe comprises of Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, UK and Vatican city. Among these 50 countries, Russia is the largest in both area and population. Vatican City is the smallest among them.


Peninsulas are the major attraction in Europe. There are five which include the Iberian Peninsula, the Balkan Peninsula, the Scandinavian Peninsula, the Jutland peninsula and the Apennines peninsula.


There are 34 major rivers that wind through Europe. Among them Volga is the longest. Other rivers include Danube, Ural, Dnieper, Don, Pechora, Kama, Oka, Belava, Tisza, Dniester, Rhine, Elbe, Vistula, Tagus, Daugava, Loire, Ebro, Nemunas, Sava, Oder, Rhone, Seine, Mures, Prut, Po, Olt, Glomma, Siret, Maritsa, Ialmita, Vardar, Shannon and Somes. Europe doesn’t have any deserts.


The major islands in Europe are Iceland, Faroe Islands, Sicily, Malta, Ionian Islands, Crete, Aegean Islands, Åland Islands, Great Britain, Ireland, other British Isles, Balearic Islands, Corsica, Sardinia, Gotland, Saaremaa, Svalbard, Hinnoya, Senja, Zealand, Fyn and North Jutlandic Island.

Mountains in Europe:

The major mountain ranges in Europe are Ural Mountains, Caucasus Mountains, Scandinavian Mountains, Dinaric Alps, Balkan Mountains, Carpathian Mountains, Alps, Apennines, Pyrenees, Cantabrian Mountains, Scottish highlands and Pennines.

Europe Map

Maps by Countries in Europe Continent