Djibouti Maps

Djibouti, officially known as the republic of Djibouti, is located between the western edge of the Gulf of Aden and the entrance to the Red Sea. This African country spreads over an area of 23,200 square kilometres.  As per the 2009 census Djibouti hosts 818,159 people. A semi-presidential republic prevails in Djibouti with Ismail Omar Guelleh as president and Dileita Mohamed Dileita as prime minister. Djibouti city, the largest city of the country is the capital. French and Arabic are the official languages.

Djibouti Cities

Djibouti, Ali Sabieh, Tadjourah, Obock, Dikhil, Arta, Holhol, Dorra, Gâlâfi and Loyada are the major cities in Djibouti. Djibouti city is the largest among them.

Djibouti Administrative divisions

Djibouti includes 5 regions and one city i.e., Djibouti city. The regions are further divided into 11 districts. Five regions of Djibouti are Ali Sabieh Region, Arta Region, Dikhil Region, Obock Region and Tadjourah Region. The 11 districts include Alaili Dadda District, Ali Sabieh District, As Eyla District, Balha District, Dikhil District, Djibouti District, Dorra District, Obock District, Randa District, Tadjourah District and Yoboki District.

Djibouti Landforms of Djibouti

Djibouti has vast stony deserts, volcanic plateaus and a series of mountains. Moussa Ali which is 6,768 ft tall is the highest Point in Djibouti and the lowest Point is Lake Assal.

Djibouti Islands

Moucha Island and Seven Brothers islands are the major islands of Djibouti. The second one which is part of the Obock Region is a group of islands.

Djibouti Lakes

Lake Abbe, Lake Afambo, Lake Assal, Lake Bario and Lake Gummar are the major lakes in Djibouti.

Djibouti Mountains

The Goda Mountains, the largest vegetated area is part of Djibouti. Other mountains in Djibouti include Ardoukoba, Mabla Mountains and Mousa Ali.

djibouti map
Map of Djibouti