Colombia Maps

Colombia is a South American country officially known as the Republic of Colombia. It was in 1499 that Colombia was discovered by Alonso de Ojeda. The country is named after Christopher Colombus. Colombia is bordered by Venezuela, Brazil, Ecuador, Peru, Caribbean Sea, Panama and the Pacific Ocean. It is the 29th most populous country in the world with a population of 45,925,397 people. Spanish is the official language of the country. The largest city and the capital of the country is Bogota. Colombia has 32 departments and one capital district, i.e., Bogotá Capital District. Margarita Island is a major island in Colombia.

Departments of Colombia

The 32 departments of Colombia include Amazonas, Antioquia, Arauca, Atlántico, Bolívar, Boyacá, Caldas, Caquetá, Casanare, Cauca, Cesar, Chocó, Córdoba, Cundinamarca, Guainía, Guaviare, Huila, La Guajira, Magdalena, Meta, Nariño, Norte de Santander, Putumayo, Quindío, Risaralda, San Andrés, Providencia and Santa Catalina, Santander, Sucre, Tolima, Valle del Cauca, Vaupés and Vichada.

Colombia Cities

Bogotá, Medellin, Cali, Barranquilla, Cartagena, Cúcuta, Pereira, Bucaramanga, Ibague and Santa Marta are the major cities of Colombia.

Colombia Lakes

The main lakes in Colombia are Calima Lake, Lake Guatavita, Lake Iguaque, Lake Otún and Lake Tota. Among these the Calima Lake, which covers an area of 70 square kilometres is the largest artificial lake in Colombia.

Colombia Mountains

Colombia’s tallest peaks Pico Cristóbal Colón and Pico Simon Bolívar are located in the Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta mountain range. The Magdalena River Valley is a main natural attraction in Colombia.

Colombia Wetlands

Ciénaga de Zapatosa and Ciénaga Grande de Santa Marta are the wet lands of Colombia. Ciénaga de Zapatosa occupies an area of around 40,000 ha.

colombia map
Map of Colombia