US Open Tennis Championship History

Introduction to US Open Tennis Tournament:

The US Open Tennis Tournament is one of the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments.

The US Open Tennis Tournament:

  • The US Open Tennis Tournament marks the final event of the Grand Slam.
  • US Open Tennis Tournaments take place during August and September every year.
  • US Open Tennis is held over a period of two weeks.
  • The US Open Tennis tournament is played at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in New York City.
  • The unique aspect of US Open Tennis is the presence of final set tie-breaks.
  • US Open Tennis is the richest tennis tournament in the world.

Championships Played in US Open Tennis Tournament:

The US Open Tennis Tournament comprises of championships in the following categories:

  • Men’s Singles Championships
  • Women’s Singles Championships
  • Men’s Doubles Championships
  • Women’s Double’s Championships
  • Mixed Doubles Championships
  • Senior Players Championships
  • Junior Players Championships
  • Wheelchair Players Championships

History of US Open Tennis Tournaments :

General Facts about US Open Tennis Championships:

  • The US Open Tennis was first held in August 1881.
  • The US Open was formerly an event meant exclusively for the elite.
  • The total prize money was placed at US Open Tennis is $17 million.
  • About 600 professional players competed for the title and the prize money.
  • The first ever venue for US Open Tennis was the Newport Casino in Rhode Island.
  • In the beginning, US Open consisted of two separate tournaments for men and women.
  • Originally, the event was known as the “U.S. National Singles Championships”.
  • The event was accessible only to associations that were a part of the United States National Lawn Tennis Association.
  • The years 1884-1911 saw the trend of “challenge system” which allowed a defending champion to automatically qualify for the next year’s finals.
  • Two best teams were selected from the east and west regions which competed against each other in the play-offs.

Venues where US Open Tennis Tournament Played:

The tennis championships were hosted at various venues over the years.

  • 1881 - 1915 - The Newport Casino, Newport, New York City
  • 1916 - 1920 - West Side Tennis Club, Forest Hills, New York
  • 1921 - 1923 - Germantown Cricket Club in Philadelphia
  • 1924 - 1978 - West Side Tennis Club , Forest Hills, New York
  • 1978 - present - USTA National Tennis Center, Flushing Meadows, Corona Park.

Landmarks of US Open Tennis:

  • For the first six years, the National Championships consisted of only the men’s national championships.
  • In the subsequent years, many other championships were introduced.

The following years mark events that were significant to the development of US Open Tennis:

  • 1887: The first U.S. Women's National Singles Championship was held officially at the Philadelphia Cricket Club.
  • 1889: U.S. Women's National Doubles Championships were held for the first time along with US Mixed Doubles.
  • 1900: the U.S. National Men's Doubles Championships were introduced

The Beginning of US Open Tennis Tournament:

  • US Tennis Open officially came into existence in 1968 after the culmination of five different championships into a single event.
  • Entry into the tournament was no longer restricted to the elite and all professionals could participate.
  • 98 men and 63 women took part in the first US Open Tournament.
  • The first US Open was held at the West Side Tennis Club in Forest Hills, Queens.
  • The prize money was stepped upto $100,000.
  • The concept of final set tie-breaks was introduced in 1970.
  • Instant replay was applied to the US Open Tournament in 2006.

Surfaces on Which US Open Tennis Championship is Played:

  • Till 1975, the US Open Tennis matches were played on grass.
  • From 1975-1978, US Open Tennis matches were played on Har-Tru clay courts.
  • Now US Open Tennis matches are played on DecoTurf.

Top 6 Tennis Players

Andy Murray

Rank : 1

Novak Djokovic

Rank : 2

Rafael Nadal

Rank : 4

Roger Federer

Rank : 5

Milos Raonic

Rank : 6

Serena Williams

Rank : 2

Simona Halep

Rank : 4

Elina Svitolina

Rank : 6

Other Tennis Tournaments