UEFA Super Cup 2016

2016 UEFA Super Cup is the 41st edition of UEFA Super Cup football match scheduled in August 2016 which will be played at the Lerkendal Stadion, Trondheim. This football game is organized and arranged by UEFA- the European football governing organization.

Date 9 August 2016 UEFA Super Cup
Venue Lerkendal Stadion, Trondheim
Man of the Match  

UEFA Super Cup 2016 Fixtures & Results

9 August 2016
20:45 GET (UTC+2)
Champions League winners  V Europa League winners Lerkendal Stadion, Trondheim

The UEFA Super Cup is an annual football competition, was conducted by UEFA League. This match was contested by the winning champions of the two main European club competitions i.e. UEFA Champion League and UEFA Europa League. Usually it begins in august, generally on Friday. This UEFA Super Cup was founded in 1972 but recognized in 1973 by UEFA. The present champions are “German Club Bayern Munich”. The most successful team in this match is “Italian side Milan” and they won the title for five times.

In 1971, Anton Witkamp was designed the UEFA Super Cup. He worked as a reporter for some time and then he became a sports editor of Dutch newspaper named as De Telegraaf.

Dutch total football contains two clubs named as:

  • Europe's finest
  • Dutch football

Witkamp got an idea in a time when these two clubs were living in their golden era.  Anton was looking for something new to absolutely choose the best team in Europe and also to additional test Ajax's legendary team, led by their star player Johan Cruyff.

Actually the match was played over two legs, but since 1998, the Super Cup was played as a single match at a neutral venue. In between 1998 and 2012 this match was played at the Stade Louis II in Monaco and afterwards, different stadia will be used.

The competition consists of two periods of 45 minutes each and if their scores are level at the end of 90 minutes, then the time period will be extended for 15-minutes. Again if there tie at the end of the extra time, a penalty shoot-out determines the winner.

The sponsors of the UEFA Super Cup's and the UEFA Champions League are same. The tournament's current main sponsors are: 

  • Ford
  • Gazprom
  • Heineken
  • MasterCard Sony Computer Entertainment Europe
  • UniCredit
  • HTC

The prize money of the winners of the Super Cup was €3 million and €2.2 million to the runners-up in 2012.

2014 UEFA Super Cup is generally played between the champions of 2013-2014 UEFA Champions League and the 2013-2014 UEFA Europa League.

The UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League are football matches held and governed by the UEFA which was formed in the year 1972.

The current winners of 2012 UEFA Super Cup are Atlético Madrid after reigning over Chelsea 2-0. The most successful team for this football cup- 2013 UEFA Super Cup  is Atlético Madrid.

August 2013 will be a month full of excitement to watch a series of football cup whilst keeping fingers crossed to record the UEFA Super Cup history in favor of the best team!

UEFA Super Cup 2015 Fixtures & Results

11 August 2015
22:45 GET (UTC+4)
Barcelona 5–4 (a.e.t.) Sevilla Boris Paichadze Dinamo Arena, Tbilisi
Attendance: 51,940
Referee: Willie Collum (Scotland)
Messi Goal 7', 16'
Rafinha Goal 44'
Suárez Goal 52'
Pedro Goal 115'
Banega Goal 3'
Reyes Goal 57'
Gameiro Goal 72' (pen.)
Konoplyanka Goal 81'

UEFA Super Cup Past Results

Year Country Winner Score Runner-up Country Venue
1972 Netherlands Ajax 3–1 Rangers  Scotland Ibrox Stadium
Netherlands Ajax 3–2 Rangers  Scotland Olympic Stadium
1973 Netherlands Ajax 0–1 Milan  Italy San Siro
Netherlands Ajax 6–0 Milan  Italy Olympic Stadium
1974 Bayern Munich andC Madgeburg did not play.  
1975 Soviet Union Dynamo Kyiv 1–0 Bayern Munich  West Germany Olympiastadion
Soviet Union Dynamo Kyiv 2–0 Bayern Munich  West Germany Kiev Central Stadium
1976 Belgium Anderlecht 1–2 Bayern Munich  West Germany Olympiastadion
Belgium Anderlecht 4–1 Bayern Munich  West Germany Parc Astride
1977 England Liverpool 1–1 Hamburg  West Germany Volksparkstadion
England Liverpool 6–0 Hamburg  West Germany Anfield
1978 Belgium Anderlecht 3–1 Liverpool  England Parc Astride
Belgium Anderlecht 1–2 Liverpool  England Anfield
1979 England Nottingham Forest 1–0 Barcelona  Spain City Ground
England Nottingham Forest 1–1 Barcelona  Spain Camp Nou
1980 Spain Valencia 1–2 Nottingham Forest  England City Ground
Spain Valencia 1–0 Nottingham Forest  England Estadio Luís Casanova
1981 Liverpool and Dinamo Tbilisi did not play.  
1982 England Aston Villa 0–1 Barcelona  Spain Camp Nou
England Aston Villa 3–0 (aet) Barcelona  Spain Villa Park
1983 Scotland Aberdeen 0–0 Hamburg  West Germany Volksparkstadion
Scotland Aberdeen 2–0 Hamburg  West Germany Pittodrie
1984 Italy Juventus 2–0 Liverpool  England Stadio Comunale
1985 Juventus and Everton did not play.    
1986 Romania Steaua BucureÈ™ti 1–0 Dynamo Kyiv  Soviet Union Stade Louis II
1987 Portugal Porto 1–0 Ajax  Netherlands Olympic Stadium
Portugal Porto 1–0 Ajax  Netherlands Estádio das Antas
1988 Belgium Mechelen 3–0 PSV Eindhoven  Netherlands Achter de Kazerne
Belgium Mechelen 0–1 PSV Eindhoven  Netherlands Philips Stadion
1989 Italy Milan 1–1 Barcelona  Spain Camp Nou
Italy Milan 1–0 Barcelona  Spain San Siro
1990 Italy Milan 1–1 Sampdoria  Italy Stadio Luigi Ferraris
Italy Milan 2–0 Sampdoria  Italy Stadio Renato Dall'Ara
1991 England Manchester United 1–0 Red Star Belgrade  Yugoslavia Old Trafford
1992 Spain Barcelona 1–1 Werder Bremen  Germany Weserstadion
Spain Barcelona 2–1 Werder Bremen  Germany Camp Nou
1993 Italy Parma 0–1 Milan [I]  Italy Stadio Ennio Tardini
Italy Parma 2–0 (aet) Milan  Italy San Siro
1994 Italy Milan 0–0 Arsenal  England Highbury
Italy Milan 2–0 Arsenal  England San Siro
1995 Netherlands Ajax 1–1 Real Zaragoza  Spain La Romareda
Netherlands Ajax 4–0 Real Zaragoza  Spain Olympisch Stadion
1996 Italy Juventus 6–1 Paris Saint-Germain  France Parc des Princes
Italy Juventus 3–1 Paris Saint-Germain  France Stadio La Favorita
1997 Spain Barcelona 2–0 Borussia Dortmund  Germany Camp Nou
Spain Barcelona 1–1 Borussia Dortmund  Germany Westfalenstadion
1998 England Chelsea Jan-00 Real Madrid  Spain Stade Louis II
1999 Italy Lazio 1–0 Manchester United  England Stade Louis II
2000 Turkey Galatasaray 2–1 (aet) Real Madrid  Spain Stade Louis II
2001 England Liverpool 3–2 Bayern Munich  Germany Stade Louis II
2002 Spain Real Madrid 3–1 Feyenoord  Netherlands Stade Louis II
2003 Italy Milan 1–0 Porto  Portugal Stade Louis II
2004 Spain Valencia 2–1 Porto  Portugal Stade Louis II
2005 England Liverpool 3–1 (aet) CSKA Moscow  Russia Stade Louis II
2006 Spain Sevilla 3–0 Barcelona  Spain Stade Louis II
2007 Italy Milan 3–1 Sevilla  Spain Stade Louis II
2008 Russia Zenit St. Petersburg 2–1 Manchester United  England Stade Louis II
2009 Spain Barcelona 1–0 (aet) Shakhtar Donetsk  Ukraine Stade Louis II
2010 Spain Atlético Madrid 2–0 Internazionale  Italy Stade Louis II
2011 Spain Barcelona 2–0 Porto  Portugal Stade Louis II
2012 Spain Atlético Madrid 4–1 Chelsea  England Stade Louis II
2013 Germany Bayern Munich 2–2*[J] Chelsea  England Eden Arena
2014 Spain Real Madrid 2-0 Sevilla Spain Cardiff City Stadium
2015 Spain Barcelona 5–4 (a.e.t.) Sevilla Spain Boris Paichadze Dinamo Arena, Tbilisi