Ski Jumping

Ski jumping is a sport in which skiers move down an inurn with a lift-off acclivity, trying to go as far as possible. Apart from the length that skiers leap, judges give bonus points for style. The skis used for ski jumping are broad and extended.

Explanation on Ski Jumping's

  • History
  • ChampionShips
  • Scoring

Is as follows


Ski jumping started off from Morgedal, Norway, but the first professional competition was held in Trysail in 1862. The first renowned ski jumping competition was held in Oslo from 1879. The yearly championship was shifted to Holmenkollen in 1892, and Holmenkollen has stayed as the Mecca of ski jumping there after.

Professional Championships

Currently, professional ski jumping competitions are of three types

  • Normal hill competitions
  • Large hill competitions
  • Ski-flying competitions

Normal hill competitions:
for normal hill competitions the calculation line is located nearly at 80-100m. Distance target up to and beyond 110 meters can be attained

Large hill competitions :
for large hill competitions the calculation line is located nearly at 120-130m. Distance target of over 145 m can be obtained on the larger hills. Professional competitions are mainly executed on these hills.

Ski-flying competitions :
for ski flying competitions the calculation line is found at 185 m. It is regarded as a separate event all together apart from the regular competitions.

Individual Olympic competition consists of a trial jump and two counted main jumps. The team event consists of four members of the same nation who perform two jumps each.


The champion is adjudged on a scoring method based on distance and style.

Each mount has a goal called the calculation point (or K point) which is a minimum distance to aim for. This point is highlighted by the K line on the landing strip. For K90 and K120 competitions, the K line is at 90 m and 120 m respectively. Skiers are granted 60 points if they land on the K Line. For every meter short/beyond this average, jumpers receive fewer/additional score than the par 60 (1.8 points per meter).

Additional to this, five judges are positioned on a pillar which is located close to the anticipated landing junction. They can award up to 20 points for style based on the following factors: keeping the skis sturdy during jump, poise, steadiness, good body stance and landing.

The skiers have to meet the ground in the Telemark landing fashion. These necessitate the jumper landing with one foot in front of the other; otherwise the style points can be reduced by the judges.

The ultimate score consists of the distance score added with the middle three style scores from the judges. For the individual championship, the jumper with the best merged total from his two jumps is victorious.