Pacific Games 2015

Pacific Games 2015 Schedule Pacific Games 2015 Sports
Pacific Games 2015 Medal Table  

Date: 4 to 18 July 2015

Place: Port Moresby

Pacific Games 2015 Sports

Pacific Games 2015 Participating Countries

  • American Samoa
  • Australia
  • Cook Islands
  • Fiji
  • Kiribati
  • Guam
  • Marshall Islands
  • FS Micronesia
  • Nauru
  • New Caledonia
  • Niue
  • New Zealand
  • Norfolk Island
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Samoa
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea (host)
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tahiti
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Tokelau
  • Wallis and Futuna

South Pacific Commission took a step head to bring all the cultures and meeting the minds of interest among the Sovereign nation. South Pacific Commission leads to the formations of first South Pacific Games in 1962. The events were organized to promote, develop sports and bring unity among the nations of the South Pacific and its people. With Spirit of Sportsmanship and Friendship, the first games were commenced in the year 1963 in Suva, Fiji.


The games were held for every three years for the first three Pacific Games commencing it to Four years from the fourth edition of Pacific Games. Dr A.H. Sahu Khan originated the idea of establishing sports, as it would bring the honor to the nations and healthy relationship among themselves. The idea led to the meeting of 9 territories, awarded Fiji to honor the first games. Australia and New Zealand were not a part of the council and were not allowed to take part in the Games. The South Pacific nations experienced dominance in the Games and were not allowed. But, were allowed to take part in four sport events on a provisional basis in 2015 games and were allowed to send participants only in Rugby sevens, Sailing, Taekwondo and Weight Lifting. These sports are included due to the South Pacific nations had proven competitive against them in the past.


Since 1981 South Pacific nations has also run the Pacific Mini Games also called as South Pacific Mini Games and rotated on a four year basis followed in between the main games.

Year Games Host city Country Dates
1963 I Suva, Viti Levu Fiji 29 August - 8 September
1966 II Nouméa, South Province New Caledonia 8–18 December
1969 III Port Moresby Papua and New Guinea 13–23 August
1971 IV Papeete, Tahiti French Polynesia 25 August - 5 September
1975 V Tumon Guam 1–10 August
1979 VI Suva, Viti Levu Fiji 28 August - 8 September
1983 VII Apia, Upolu Western Samoa 5–16 September
1987 VIII Nouméa New Caledonia 8–20 December
1991 IX Port Moresby Papua New Guinea 7–21 September
1995 X Papeete, Tahiti French Polynesia 25 August - 5 September
1999 XI Santa Rita Guam 29 May - 12 June
2003 XII Suva, Viti Levu Fiji 28 June - 12 July
2007 XIII Apia, Upolu Samoa 25 August - 8 September
2011 XIV Nouméa New Caledonia 27 August - 10 September
2015 XV Port Moresby Papua New Guinea 4–18 July
2019 XVI Nukualofa, Tongatapu Tonga