New Zealand Netball Team

Union Netball New Zealand
Nickname(s) Silver Ferns
Founded 1938
CEO Raelene Castle
Captain Casey Williams
Coach Ruth Aitken
Assistant coach Waimarama Taumaunu
Most capped player Irene van Dyk (114)
IFNA ranking 1st

New Zealand Netball Team Competitive Record

Netball World Championships
Year Championship Location Placing
1963 1st World Championships Eastbourne, England  2nd place
1967 2nd World Championships Perth, Australia  Champions
1971 3rd World Championships Kingston, Jamaica  2nd place
1975 4th World Championships Auckland, New Zealand  3rd place
1979 5th World Championships Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago  Joint 1st
1983 6th World Championships Singapore  2nd place
1987 7th World Championships Glasgow, Scotland  Champions
1991 8th World Championships Sydney, Australia  2nd place
1995 9th World Championships Birmingham, England  3rd place
1999 10th World Championships Christchurch, New Zealand  2nd place
2003 11th World Championships Kingston, Jamaica  Champions
2007 12th World Championships Auckland, New Zealand  2nd place


Netball at the Commonwealth Games
Year Games Event Location Placing
1998 XVI Games 1st Netball Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia  2nd place
2002 XVII Games 2nd Netball Manchester, England  2nd place
2006 XVIII Games 3rd Netball Melbourne, Australia  Champions
2010 XIX Games 4th Netball Delhi, India  Champions


World Netball Series
Year Tournament Location Placing
2009 1st World Series Manchester, England  Champions
2010 2nd World Series Liverpool, England  Champions



Netball at the World Games
Year Games Event Location Placing
1985 2nd World Games 1st Netball London, England  Champions
1989 3rd World Games 2nd Netball Karlsruhe, Germany  Champions
1993 4th World Games 3rd Netball The Hague, Netherlands  2nd place

New Zealand Netball Team Players

2011 Silver Ferns

Player information Tests played
Name Positions 2011 ANZ Championship team ENG Tests AUS Tests 2011 NWC
Leana de Bruin GK, GD Southern Steel yes - -
Katrina Grant GD, GK Central Pulse yes - -
Joline Henry GD, GK, WD Northern Mystics yes - -
Laura Langman WD, C, WA Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic yes - -
Camilla Lees C, WA Central Pulse yes - -
Liana Leota WA, C Southern Steel yes - -
Anna Scarlett GK, GD, WD Northern Mystics yes - -
Anna Thompson GA, WA Canterbury Tactix yes - -
Maria Tutaia GA, GS Northern Mystics yes - -
Irene van Dyk GS, GA Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic yes - -
Casey Williams (captain) GK, GD Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic yes - -
Daneka Wipiiti GS Southern Steel yes - -