Year Player Team Position
MLB All Star MVPS Awards Winners
1955 Johnny Podres Brooklyn Dodgers Starting pitcher
1956 Don Larsen New York Yankees Starting pitcher
1957 Lew Burdette Milwaukee Braves Starting pitcher
1958 Bob Turley New York Yankees Pitcher
1959 Larry Sherry Los Angeles Dodgers Relief pitcher
1960 Bobby Richardson New York Yankees‡ Second baseman
1961 Whitey Ford§ New York Yankees Starting pitcher
1962 Ralph Terry New York Yankees Starting pitcher
1963 Sandy Koufax§ Los Angeles Dodgers Starting pitcher
1964 Bob Gibson§ St. Louis Cardinals Starting pitcher
1965 Sandy Koufax§ (2) Los Angeles Dodgers Starting pitcher
1966 Frank Robinson§ Baltimore Orioles Outfielder
1967 Bob Gibson§ (2) St. Louis Cardinals Starting pitcher
1968 Mickey Lolich Detroit Tigers Starting pitcher
1969 Donn Clendenon New York Mets First baseman
1970 Brooks Robinson§ Baltimore Orioles Third baseman
1971 Roberto Clemente§ Pittsburgh Pirates Outfielder
1972 Gene Tenace Oakland Athletics Catcher
1973 Reggie Jackson§ Oakland Athletics Outfielder
1974 Rollie Fingers§ Oakland Athletics Relief pitcher
1975 Pete Rose Cincinnati Reds Third baseman
1976 Johnny Bench§ Cincinnati Reds Catcher
1977 Reggie Jackson§ (2) New York Yankees Outfielder
1978 Bucky Dent New York Yankees Shortstop
1979* Willie Stargell§ Pittsburgh Pirates First baseman
1980 Mike Schmidt§ Philadelphia Phillies Third baseman
1981^ Ron Cey Los Angeles Dodgers Third baseman
1981^ Pedro Guerrero Los Angeles Dodgers Outfielder
1981^ Steve Yeager Los Angeles Dodgers Catcher
1982* Darrell Porter St. Louis Cardinals Catcher
1983 Rick Dempsey Baltimore Orioles Catcher
1984 Alan Trammell Detroit Tigers Shortstop
1985 Bret Saberhagen Kansas City Royals Starting pitcher
1986 Ray Knight New York Mets Third baseman
1987 Frank Viola Minnesota Twins Starting pitcher
1988* Orel Hershiser Los Angeles Dodgers Starting pitcher
1989 Dave Stewart Oakland Athletics Starting pitcher
1990 José Rijo Cincinnati Reds Starting pitcher
1991 Jack Morris Minnesota Twins Starting pitcher
1992 Pat Borders Toronto Blue Jays Catcher
1993 Paul Molitor§ Toronto Blue Jays Third baseman/Designated hitter
1995 Tom Glavine Atlanta Braves Starting pitcher
1996 John Wetteland New York Yankees Relief pitcher
1997* Liván Hernández† Florida Marlins Starting pitcher
1998 Scott Brosius New York Yankees Third baseman
1999 Mariano Rivera† New York Yankees Relief pitcher
2000 Derek Jeter† New York Yankees Shortstop
2001^ Randy Johnson Arizona Diamondbacks Pitcher
2001^ Curt Schilling Arizona Diamondbacks Starting pitcher
2002 Troy Glaus† Anaheim Angels Third baseman
2003 Josh Beckett† Florida Marlins Starting pitcher
2004 Manny Ramirez Boston Red Sox Outfielder
2005 Jermaine Dye Chicago White Sox Outfielder
2006 David Eckstein† St. Louis Cardinals Shortstop
2007 Mike Lowell Boston Red Sox Third baseman
2008* Cole Hamels† Philadelphia Phillies Starting pitcher
2009 Hideki Matsui† New York Yankees Designated hitter
2010 Edgar Rentería† San Francisco Giants Shortstop
2011* David Freese† St. Louis Cardinals Third baseman


Year Links to the article about that corresponding World Series
§ Member of the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum
Active player
* Indicates player also won the LCS MVP Award in the same postseason
Indicates losing team in the World Series
^ Indicates multiple award winners in the same World Series
(#) Indicates number of times winning World Series MVP at that point (if he won multiple times)