IPL T20 2014

2014 Indian Premier League

Indian Premier League T20 2014
Teams Venues Schedule Results Player Auction
Points Table Playoffs Broadcasters Photo Gallery Records & Statistics

IPL T20 2014 Today's Match

Friday, Apr 18 (20 ovs)
10:30 GMT | 14:30 local
16:00 IST
3rd match - Chennai Super Kings v Mohali T20
Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

IPL T20 2014 Previous Match Results

2nd match: Delhi T20 v Bangalore T20 at Sharjah - Apr 17, 2014

Toss Bangalore T20, who chose to field | Delhi T20 145/4 (20/20 ov); Bangalore T20 146/2 (16.4/20 ov)

Bangalore T20 won by 8 wickets (with 20 balls remaining) | Player of the match YS Chahal (Bangalore T20) | Points Bangalore T20 2, Delhi T20 0

IPL T20 2014 Details

Dates: 16 April 2014 – 1 June 2014

Administrator(s): BCCI

Cricket format: Twenty20

Tournament format(s): Double round robin and playoffs


  • United Arab Emirates
  • India

Participants: 8

Matches played: 60

IPL T20 2014 Teams

Chennai Super Kings SunRisers Hyderabad Delhi Daredevils Rajasthan Royals Royal Challengers Bangalore
King XI Punjab Kolkara Knight Riders Mumbai Indians    

Schedule & Results

Date and Time Match
Wed Apr 16 (20 ovs)  
14:30 GMT | 18:30 local
20:00 IST
1st match - Mumbai Indians v Kolkata Knight Riders
Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi
Thu Apr 17 (20 ovs)  
14:30 GMT | 18:30 local
20:00 IST
2nd match - Delhi Daredevils v Royal Challengers Bangalore
Sharjah Cricket Stadium
Fri Apr 18 (20 ovs) 
10:30 GMT | 14:30 local
16:00 IST
3rd match - Chennai Super Kings v Kings XI Punjab
Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi
Fri Apr 18 (20 ovs)  
16:00 GMT | 20:00 local
21:30 IST
4th match - Sunrisers Hyderabad v Rajasthan Royals
Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi
>> Complete Fixtures

Prize Money

Player Salary Cap Deduction
First INR 12.5 Crore (US$2.02 m)
Second INR 9.5 Crore (US$1.53 m)
Third INR 7.5 Crore (US$1.21 m)
Fourth INR 5.5 Crore (US$880,000)
Fifth INR 4 Crore (US$645,000)
Each INR 4 crore (US$645,000)

The Indian Premier League (IPL) was started by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), and Lalit Modi. These series of One Day International (ODI) cricket matches come under the category of “T20” as each side plays a limited number of overs per match equaling to 20. The headquarters of the league is in Mumbai, India. The league consists of 9 teams as of 2013 which are made up of cricket players from all around the world.

With just 20 overs per innings, the IPL T20 cricket matches are among the most high profile and shortest form of cricket. The league is commercially extremely successful with a net worth of $2.99 billion as of 2013.

IPL T20 Tournament Rules

The IPL teams are formed on the basis of franchise bidding for players. There are five methods of a player being acquired by a franchise. There is an annual auction where the players can sign up. There is a trading window where a player is traded with their consent. The franchise will play the difference between the new and old contract values. In the event that the new contract has more value than the old one, the difference is shared between the franchise which sells the player and the player.

Teams are formed according to the following rules:

  • Each squad has a minimum of 16 players in addition to a coach and physiotherapist
  • The maximum of foreign players allowed per team is 11
  • At least 14 players should be included in each squad
  • The number of players from BCCI under 22 should not exceed 6 per squad

IPL T20 Tournament Past Results

Year Host Nation Final Teams
Venue Winners Result Runners-up
2008 India DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai Rajasthan Royals
164 for 7 (20 overs)
Won by 3 wickets Chennai Super Kings
163 for 5 (20 overs)
2009 South Africa New Wanderers Stadium,Johannesburg Deccan Chargers
143 for 6 (20 overs)
Won by 6 runs Royal Challengers Bangalore
137 for 9 (20 overs)
2010 India DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai Chennai Super Kings
168 for 5 (20 overs)
Won by 22 runs Mumbai Indians
146 for 9 (20 overs)
2011 India MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai Chennai Super Kings
205 for 5 (20 overs)
Won by 58 runs Royal Challengers Bangalore
147 for 8 (20 overs)
2012 India MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai Kolkata Knight Riders
192 for 5 (19.4 overs)
Won by 5 wickets Chennai Super Kings
190 for 3 (20 overs)
2013 India Eden Gardens, Kolkata Mumbai Indians
148 for 9 (20 overs)
Won by 23 runs Chennai Super Kings
125 for 9 (20 overs)

Upcoming Tournaments

IPL T20 2014
Apr 16 - Jun 01
NatWest T20 Blast 2014
May 16 - Aug 23
   More in Sports