ICC T20 World Cup 2016

ICC World Twenty20 History

The T20 world cup also known as the 20-20 World cup is an international cricket championship that follows the 20-20 format for all its matches. The event is organized every year by the ICC (International Cricket Council). 12 international teams participate in this championship. The first tournament was held in the year 2007 in South Africa in September. It was won by India at the finals held in Johannesburg against Pakistan. The second event took place in England in the June 2009. Pakistan lifted the cup after defeating Sri Lanka at Lord’s in London. The third was held in May 2011 and hosted by West Indies. England won the cup after defeating Australia at Barbados.

This year’s T20 championship is being held at Sri Lanka with 2 qualifiers and 10 full members contesting the men’s event. There is also a women’s tournament with 8 participating teams. The matches will take place at the following stadiums: Pallekele Cricket Stadium, Pallekele; R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo and Mahinda Rajapaksa Stadium, Hambantota.

The format of this year’s tournament will remain the same as before. 4 group matches of three each will be played. The top 8 teams; 2 from each group will enter the Super Eight league. This league is again divided into 2 groups. The best 2 from each team will enter the semi-finals and then the top teams from each group will reach the final. The grand finale will be held at the Mahinda Rajapaksa Stadium, Hambantota.

Twenty20 Worldcup 2016 Facts

Dates 11 March – 3 April 2016
Administrator(s) International Cricket Council
Cricket format Twenty20 International
Tournament format(s)

Group stage and Knockout

Host(s) India
Participants 10 (Super 10)
16 (Total)

2016 Qualified Teams

First/Qualifier Round

Qualification Country
Full Members Bangladesh
Qualifier Scotland
Hong Kong

Second/Super 10 Round

Qualification Country
Host India
Full Members Australia
New Zealand
South Africa
Sri Lanka
West Indies
Advanced from First Round TBA

2014 ICC World Twenty20 Final Result

  • Sri Lanka (2014 Champions) - 134/4 (17.5 overs)
  • India - 130/4 (20 overs)
Champions Sri Lanka (1st title)
Participants 16
Matches Played 35
Man of the Series Virat Kohli
Most Runs Virat Kohli (319)
Most Wickets Imran Tahir (12)
Ahsan Malik (12)

ICC World Twenty20 2014 Prize Money

ICC T20 World Cup 2014 total prize money is $20m.

ICC World Twenty20 2014 Teams

  • Afghanistan
  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • England
  • Hong Kong
  • India
  • Ireland
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • United Arab Emirates
  • West Indies

ICC World Twenty20 2014 Broadcaster & Media Partner

  • ESPN Star Sports
  • Star Cricket