ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2016

2016 ICC Women's Twenty20 World Cup will start from March 15 , 2016 to april 3,2016. Detailed schedule information will update here soon...

ICC Women's Twenty20 World Cup 2016 Facts

2016 ICC World Twenty20
Administrator(s) International Cricket Council
Cricket format Twenty20 International
Tournament format(s) Group stage and Knockout
Host(s) India

2014 ICC Women's Twenty20 World Cup

Dates: 23rd March – 6 April, 2014

Administrator(s): International Cricket Council

Cricket format: Twenty20 International

Tournament format(s): Group stage and Knockout

Host(s): Bangladesh

2014 ICC Women's World Twenty20 Final Result

  • Australia (2014 Champions) - 106/4 (15.1 overs)
  • England 105/8 (20 overs)

Prize Money

Winner $ 70,000
Runner-Up $ 30,000
Semi-Finalist $ 15,000 (x2)
Group match win $ 2,500 (x20 = 50,000)


Group A

  • Australia
  • Ireland
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • South Africa

Group B

  • Bangladesh
  • England
  • India
  • Sri Lanka
  • West Indies

ICC Women’s World Twenty20 is an international cricket event. The latest Twenty20 was held at Sri Lanka in September-October 2012. The tournament was initiated by group matches which were played for qualification rounds. The group matches were held at the Galle International Stadium. This was followed by the semi-finals and finals at the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. The women’s tournament was held along with the 2012 ICC World Twenty20 men’s tournament.

The 2012 Tournament

Australia won the tournament. They also beat England who was a hot favorite before the tournament. Australia won the final match by 4 runs. Charlotte Edwards, the captain of the English side put the defeat down to her team’s lack of discipline. Later, Ebony Rainford, specialist analyst felt however, that the defeat was caused by poor performance of the English bowlers and the fact that England was unable to rotate the strike effectively. Charlotte Edwards was awarded Player of the Tournament. She had totted up a total of 172 runs which averaged out at 43 runs per game.


The ICC Women’s World Twenty20 is pretty much the same the “super-eight” and “knock-out” stages of the men’s tournament. After the warm up matches all the teams are split up into two groups and the following matches are played in a “round-robin” format. The best two teams then play a knock-out match and eliminated teams compete with each other for the next tournament to be held in Bangladesh in 2014.


  Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur, Dhaka

Established 2006
Capacity 25,000
  Sylhet Stadium