Football League Cup 2013/14

Football league cup is also called as League Cup, is an English men’s association football competition founded in 1960. This tournament is same as to FA Cup which is played on a knockout basis. It is different from FA Cup where in 2012-13, 758 teams entered but in League Cup 92 clubs only entered. In these 92 clubs, the 20 are Premier Clubs and the other 72 clubs are of Football League, these organize the tournament. In this competition the semi-finals are played over two legs, but in FA Cup played over one leg only.  The winners of this Football League cup will also eligible for the UEFA Europa League otherwise they have eligible for the Champions League through their league position. The most winning club of this tournament is Liverpool, which has been won the title for eight times. The current championship is Manchester City F.C., which has been won the title for three times.

Even though the league cup is one of the three most important domestic trophies accessible by English league teams and is recognized by larger clubs as a lower priority than the league championship, UEFA Champions league and FA Cup. The winners of League Cup will receive prize money of £ 100,000 and £ 50,000 of prize money to runners-up, which is awarded by Football League.

By the reason of sponsorship, the official name of “the 2013-14 Football League Cup” is Capital One Cup and was held between 5th August 2013 and 2 March 2014. It was the 54th season of the Football League Cup and winners of this competition will get a chance to participating in the third qualifying round of the 2014-15 Europa League. The defending champions (Swansea city) were defeated by Birmingham City in the 3rd round. The 2014 Cup won by Manchester City who defeated Sunderland by scoring 3-1 in the Finals. 


Football League Cup plays as a single elimination match with 7 rounds expects semi finals. Football League Cup semi finals plays in two legs system. Total 92 teams plays from Premier League and Football League.  Clubs from Premier League join in the competition 2nd round and the clubs which are qualify for Champions League or UEFA Europa League enter in the competition in 3rd round. Football League Cup finals held in Wembley Stadium, London.

Draw Venues Teams Fixtures Results Scores  
1st Round 2nd Round 3rd Round 4th Round Quarter Final Semi Final Final


Period Sponsor Name
1960–1982 No main sponsor Football League Cup
1982–1986 Milk Marketing Board Milk Cup
1986–1990 Littlewoods Littlewoods Challenge Cup
1990–1992 Rumbelows Rumbelows Cup
1992–1998 Coca-Cola Coca-Cola Cup
1998–2003 Worthington's Worthington Cup
2003–2012 Molson Coors Carling Cup
2012–2016 Capital One Capital One Cup

Prize Money

  • League Cup Winners: £100,000
  • League Cup Runners-up: £50,000


by Club

Most tournament wins in League: 8 - Liverpool in years 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1995, 2001, 2003, 2012, Aston Villa by 5 times in years 1961, 1975, 1977, 1994, 1996, Manchester United by 4 times in year 1992, 2006, 2009, 2010, Tottenham Hotspur by 4 times in year 1971, 1973, 1999, 2008, Chelsea by 4 times in year 1965, 1998, 2005, 2007 and Nottingham Forest by 4 times in year 1978, 1979, 1989, 1990.

Most final appearances in League: Liverpool by 11 times

Most losing appearances in a final: Arsenal by 5 times in year 1968, 1969, 1988, 2007, 2011, Manchester United by 4 times in year 1983, 1991, 1994, 2003, Liverpool by 3 times in year 1978, 1987, 2005, Aston Villa by 3 times in year 1963, 1971, 2010 and Tottenham Hotspur by 3 times in year 1982, 2002, 2009

Most Successive League titles: Liverpool by 4 times in year 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, Nottingham Forest by 2 times in year 1978, 1979

by individual

Most tournament wins: Ian Rush by 5 times for Liverpool Football Club in year 1981–82, 1982–83, 1983–84, 1985–86, 1989–90

Most final appearances: Welsh's Ian Rush football player by 6 times for Liverpool Football Club in year 1981–1984, 1987, 1995 and English professional footballer Emile William Ivanhoe Heskey by 2 times for Leicester City Football Club in year 1997, 1999, 2000, for Liverpool Football Club in year 2001, 2003 and for Aston Villa Football Club in year 2010.

Most goals scored in a match: 6 goals by Frankie Bunn for Oldham Athletic A.F.C. vs Scarborough F.C. (1989).

Youngest player: Ashley Chambers at age of 15 years for club Leicester City in match Leicester City vs Blackpool (2005).

Youngest goalscorer in the final: Norman Whiteside at age of 17 years for club Manchester United in Manchester United vs Liverpool (1983).

Youngest captain in the final: Barry Venison at age of 20 years for club Sunderland in Sunderland vs Norwich City (1985).

by Goals

Highest goalscorer in League by Career: 49 goals by Geoff Hurst and Ian Rush

Number of goals in League in a season: 12 goals by Clive Allen for club Tottenham Hotspur(1986–87).

Biggest losing margin in second round first leg final: 10 goals in Liverpool (10–0) Fulham on 23 September 1986

Biggest losing margin in second round second leg final: 10 goals in West Ham United (10–0) Bury

Biggest aggregate win in a semi-final: Manchester City (9–0) West Ham United (6–0 at the Etihad Stadium and 3–0 at the Boleyn Ground) in year 2014

Biggest win in a final: Swansea City 5–0 Bradford City (24 February 2013).

Highest scoring game: Reading 5–7 Arsenal in fourth round(30 October 2012).

Highest goal aggregate in a two-legged final: West Bromwich Albion by aggregate of (5–3) West Bromwich Albion vs West Ham United in year 1966, Leicester City by aggregate of (4–3) Leicester City vs Stoke City in year 1964 and Norwich City by aggregate of (4–0) in year 1962

Lowest goal aggregate in a two-legged final: Aston Villa by aggregate of (3–2) Aston Villa vs Rotherham United in year 1961, Birmingham City by aggregate of (3–1) in year 1963 and Chelsea by aggregate of (3–2) Chelsea vs Leicester City in year 1965

In 2001 League won final Liverpool (1 - 1) Birmingham City in a penalty shootout by 5–4.

In 2009 League final Manchester United (0 - 0) Tottenham Hotspur in a penalty shootout by 4–1.

In 2012 League final Liverpool (2-2) Cardiff City in a penalty shootout by 3–2