Brasil Open Tennis 2016

Brasil Open Tennis is a major event on tennis calendar of Brazil and presently it is a part of the ATP World Tour 250 series. The women’s WTA Brasil Open tournament started in 1999 and men’s Brasil Open launched in 2001. From 2001 to 2012, the Brasil Open tournament took place in Costa do Sauipe and in 2012 it relocated to Sao Paulo.

Held in February every year, the surface of this tournament is indoor clay courts for men and outdoor hard courts for women. From 2004 to 2011, the men’s event was played on outdoor hard courts. The change of surface occurred due to wet weather in Sao Paulo in February.

The Spanish player NicolásAlmagrohas won the Brasil Open men’s singles title three times in 2008, 2011 and in 2012. Similarly, Brazil’s own Bruno Soareshas the credit of winning men’s doubles title consecutively three times in 2011, 2012 and 2013 with his partners.

2016 Brasil Open Tennis take place from 9th February to 15th February 2016 and prize money is set for a total of $444,650 with total financial commitment of $505,655. The winner of the tournament is awarded with 250 points for both Men’s Singles and Doubles. The singles winner receives a prize money of $85,700 and doubles prize money of $26,000.

Feb 22 - Feb 28, 2016

Sao Paulo, Brazil

Prize Money: $505,655

Category : ATP WT 250

2015 Tour

Dates : Feb 9 - Feb 15, 2015

Prize Money : $519,775

Surface : Clay

Edition : 16th

Draw : 28S / 16D


Sao Paulo Open Tennis 2016 Facts

Date: Feb 22 – Feb 28 Brasil cup tennis
Edition: 16th
Category: WTA International tournaments
Draw: 32S / 16D
Prize Money: $505,655
Surface: Clay
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil

Brasil Open Tennis 2015 Champions


Brasil Open Tennis Facts

Location Men:
São Paulo
São Paulo
Surface Men:
Hard/Outdoors (2001–03)
Clay/Outdoors (2004–11)
Clay/Indoors (2012–present)
ATP World Tour
Category ATP International Series
ATP World Tour 250 series
Draw 28S / 32Q / 16D
Prize Money $455,775
WTA Tour
Category Tier 2
Draw 28S / 32Q / 16D
Prize Money US$600,000

Top 6 Tennis Players

Andy Murray

Rank : 1

Novak Djokovic

Rank : 2

Rafael Nadal

Rank : 4

Roger Federer

Rank : 5

Milos Raonic

Rank : 6

Serena Williams

Rank : 2

Simona Halep

Rank : 4

Elina Svitolina

Rank : 6

Other Tennis Tournaments