AFC Champions League 2016

AFC Champions League is an Asian premier football club competition, which is organized by Asian Football Confederation. It is same as the below Champions League competitions, which are:


AFC Champions League 2016

Dates: 27 January – 26 November 2016

Teams : 45 (from 17 associations)

Schedule Teams Tickets Stadiums Sponsors Points Table Quarter Finals Semi Finals Final

Prize Money

Phase Result Travel Subsidy
Qualifying Playoffs N/A $20,000
Group stages Win: $40,000 & Draw: $20,000 $30,000
Round of 16 $50,000 $40,000
Quarter-finals $80,000 $50,000
Semi-finals $120,000 $60,000
Final Champions: $1.5 million & Runners-up: $750,000 $60,000


Stage Round Draw date First leg Second leg
Preliminary stage Preliminary round 1 No draw 27 January 2016
Preliminary round 2 2 February 2016
Play-off stage Play-off round 9 February 2016
Group stage Matchday 1 10 December 2015 23–24 February 2016
Matchday 2 1–2 March 2016
Matchday 3 15–16 March 2016
Matchday 4 5–6 April 2016
Matchday 5 19–20 April 2016
Matchday 6 3–4 May 2016
Knock-out stage Round of 16 17–18 May 2016 24–25 May 2016
Quarter-finals TBA 13–14 September 2016 20–21 September 2016
Semi-finals 18–19 October 2016 25–26 October 2016
Final 19 November 2016 26 November 2016

This AFC Champions League was founded in 1967. In this champion league, “Pohang Steelers” is the most successful club because it won the title for 3 times. The head office of AFC is now situated in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. It consists of 45 clubs compete and one Associate Member Association. In these 45 clubs: 28 clubs receive automatic berths and remaining 18 clubs authorizing for the next round via the qualifying playoffs.

From 2009, the champions will not allow automatically for the next year competition. The winner of the AFC Champions league is also eligible for the FIFA Club World Cup.

For the first time this tournament was initiated as the Asian Champion Club Tournament. The two most winning clubs of this era (1967-1971) were Hapoel Tel Aviv and Maccabi Tel Aviv. After the 1971 edition the tournament was not conducted for 14 years because of a lack of professionalism and interest.

In 2016, AFC Champions League is the 35th edition of the high-level Asian club football competition, which is conducted by the Asian Football Confederation (AFC).

AFC President: Shaikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa

AFC General Secretary: Dato’ Alex Soosay

In Asia, the AFC is important for running football along with its different responsibilities:

  • Regulating the game
  • Drafting new laws to improve the sport
  • Implementing the law
  • Boosting grassroots and youth football
  • Conducting major competitions


AFC Champions league consists of two stages, in which one will be Qualifying play-off and the other is Knockout phase.

Qualifying Play-off

In qualifying play-off there will be totally 19 teams that will be drawn together. It will be taken over three single elimination ties because to compete in all the final four sports at the group level stage.

Group Stage

At group stage total of 32 clubs will be divided into 8 groups. While each group consists of 4 clubs which will be based on the region. It is divided as East Asian, South Asian clubs and will be grouped into Groups E to H. While the remaining clubs will be grouped into Groups A to D. Each group will be playing as double round robin formula for total matches of six per team. Points are assigned in this way for clubs that winner group will be earning 3 points, if it is draw then 1 point will be earned and incase of loss 0 points are awarded. As the clubs will be ranked to the points earned so the tie breakers will be in the below mentioned order:

  • If points are earned between the clubs then it will be in question
  • If there will be any Goal difference between the clubs then it has to be in question
  • If there are Goals for between the clubs in question
  • There can be goal difference between the groups
  • There will be goals for within the group

After this winners of eight groups as well as runners- up of eight groups will only be qualified to knockout phase.

Knockout Phase

Round-of-16, Quarterfinals, Semifinals and final

In 2016 season of AFC champions’ league, the winners as well as runners-up will be playing a two-legged tie that will be determining the club which is in progress to continue in Quarterfinals. These matches will be played by clubs.