Seven Principles of Kwanzaa

The Seven Principles of Kwanzaa are:

  1. Umoja : Unity
  2. Success starts with Unity. Unity of family, community, nation and race.
  3. Kujichagulia : Self-Determination
  4. To be responsible for ourselves. To create your own destiny.
  5. Ujima : Collective work and responsibility
  6. To build and maintain your community together. To work together to help one another within your community.
  7. Ujamaa : Collective
  8. To build, maintain, and support our own stores, establishments, and businesses.
  9. Nia : Purpose
  10. To restore African American people to their traditional greatness.
  11. Kuumba : Creativity
  12. Using creativity and imagination to make your communities better than what you inherited.
  13. Imani : Faithle
  14. Believing in our people, our families, our educators, our leaders, and the righteousness of the African American struggle.

Kwanzaa Related Topics