North Dakota Gubernatorial Election 2012

2012 North Dakota Gubernatorial Election

North Dakota Governor Election 2012

North Dakota Gubernatorial Election 2012 Jack Dalrymple Ryan Taylor
Nominee Jack Dalrymple Ryan Taylor
Party Republican Democratic
Running Mate Drew Wrigley Ellen Chaffee
Governor Before Election

Jack Dalrymple

Elected Governor
Jack Dalrymple & Drew Wrigley Incumbent


North Dakota Gubernatorial Election 2012 Results

Governor/Lieutenant Governor of North Dakota General Election, 2012
Party Candidate Vote % Votes
     Republican Jack Dalrymple & Drew Wrigley Incumbent 63.2% 199,769
     Democratic Ryan Taylor & Ellen Chaffee 34.3% 108,622
     Independent Paul Sorum & Michael Coachman 1.7% 5,338
     Independent Roland Riemers & Anthony Johns 0.8% 2,607
Total Votes 316,336


North Dakota Gubernatorial Election 2012 Key Dates

Deadline Event
April 13 Candidate filing deadline
June 12 Primary election
Nov. 6 General election
Nov. 16 Results certified

North Dakota Gubernatorial Election 2012 Race Tracking

2012 Race Rankings - North Dakota Governor
Race Tracker Race Rating
The Cook Political Report Safe Republican
Governing Politics Likely Republican
Larry J. Sabato's Crystal Ball Safe Republican
The Rothenberg Political Report Safe Republican
Overall Call  

North Dakota Gubernatorial Election 2012 Polls

Governor of North Dakota, 2012
Response Rasmussen Reports July 10-11, 2012
Jack Dalrymple 61%
Ryan Taylor 26%
Another candidate 1%
Undecided 11%
Number polled 400
Margin of error +/-5.0

Jack Dalrymple

32nd Governor of North Dakota
Assumed office
December 7, 2010
Lieutenant Drew Wrigley
Preceded by John Hoeven
36th Lieutenant Governor of North Dakota
In office
December 15, 2000 – December 7, 2010
Governor John Hoeven
Preceded by Rosemarie Myrdal
Succeeded by Drew Wrigley
Member of the North Dakota House of Representatives from the 22nd district
In office
Preceded by  ???
Succeeded by Vonnie Pietsch
Personal Details
Born October 16, 1948 (age 63)
Minneapolis, Minnesota, U.S.
Political party Republican
Spouse(s) Betsy Wood
Residence Governor's Residence
Alma mater Yale University

Ryan Taylor

Minority Leader of the North Dakota Senate
Assumed office
January 4, 2011
Preceded by David O'Connell
Personal Details
Born July 22, 1970 (age 42)
Towner, North Dakota, U.S.
Political party Democratic Party
Alma mater North Dakota State University


Gubernatorial Elections Article Archive