Nobel Literature

Nobel Prize for Literature is awarded annually since 1901 to an author/writer from any country for their contribution “to the most outstanding work in an ideal direction in the field of literature” in the words of Alfred Nobel. The Swedish Academy gives away Nobel Literature award in the field Chemistry, Physics, Nobel Peace Prize, Medicine or Physiology announcing the chosen laureate’s name in early October.

The Swedish Academy has been criticized in recent years on the grounds of not honoring well-known writers or for even not nominating them in the Nobel Literature list. Some critics contended that those who have been awarded didn’t deserve to be. Controversies were also on a high stating that those awarded had alleged political interests relating to the nomination process.

Members of the Swedish Academy, members of literature academics and societies, former Nobel literature laureates and the writer’s organizations nominate a candidate each year for the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Besides winning a gold medal, Nobel diploma, and prize money of nearly 1,356,610 USD, the recipient is also invited to give a lecture during “Nobel Week” in Stockholm. Seamus Heaney of Ireland is a Nobel Laureate “for works of lyrical beauty and ethical depth, which exalt everyday miracles and the living past” in 1995. George Bernard Shaw, also from Ireland, won the award “for his work which is marked by both idealism and humanity, its stimulating satire often being infused with a singular poetic beauty” in 1925.

Nobel Prize Winners in Physics

  • 2016 Physics Nobel Prize Winner
  • 2015 Physics Nobel Prize Winner Arthur B. McDonald, Takaaki Kajita
  • 2014 Physics Nobel Prize Winner Isamu Akasaki, Hiroshi Amano, Shuji Nakamura
  • 2013 Physics Nobel Prize Winner Peter Higgs, François Englert
  • 2012 Physics Nobel Prize Winner David J. Wineland, Serge Haroche
  • 2011 Physics Nobel Prize Winner Adam G. Riess, Brian P. Schmidt, Saul Perlmutter
  • 2010 Physics Nobel Prize Winner Konstantin Novoselov, Andre Geim
  • 2009 Physics Nobel Prize Winner George E. Smith, Willard S. Boyle, Charles K. Kao
  • More

Nobel Prize Winners in Chemistry

  • 2016 Chemistry Nobel Prize Winner
  • 2015 Chemistry Nobel Prize Winner Aziz Sancar, Paul L. Modrich, Tomas Lindahl
  • 2014 Chemistry Nobel Prize Winner William Moerner, Stefan Hell, Eric Betzig
  • 2013 Chemistry Nobel Prize Winner Arieh Warshel, Michael Levitt, Martin Karplus
  • 2012 Chemistry Nobel Prize Winner Brian Kobilka, Robert Lefkowitz
  • 2011 Chemistry Nobel Prize Winner Daniel Shechtman
  • 2010 Chemistry Nobel Prize Winner Akira Suzuki, Ei-ichi Negishi, Richard F. Heck
  • 2009 Chemistry Nobel Prize Winner Ada E. Yonath, Thomas A. Steitz, Venkatraman Ramakrishnan
  • More

Nobel Prize Winners in Physiology or Medicine

  • 2016 Physiology or Medicine Nobel Prize Winner
  • 2015 Physiology or Medicine Nobel Prize Winner Tu Youyou, Satoshi Omura, William C. Campbell
  • 2014 Physiology or Medicine Nobel Prize Winner Edvard Moser, May-Britt Moser, John O'Keefe
  • 2013 Physiology or Medicine Nobel Prize Winner Thomas C. Südhof, Randy W. Schekman, James E. Rothman
  • 2012 Physiology or Medicine Nobel Prize Winner Shinya Yamanaka, Sir John B. Gurdon
  • 2011 Physiology or Medicine Nobel Prize Winner Ralph M. Steinman, Jules A. Hoffmann, Bruce A. Beutler
  • 2010 Physiology or Medicine Nobel Prize Winner Robert G. Edwards
  • 2009 Physiology or Medicine Nobel Prize Winner Jack W. Szostak, Carol W. Greider, Elizabeth H. Blackburn
  • More

Nobel Prize Winners in Literature

  • 2016 Literature Nobel Prize Winner
  • 2015 Literature Nobel Prize Winner Svetlana Alexievich
  • 2014 Literature Nobel Prize Winner Patrick Modiano
  • 2013 Literature Nobel Prize Winner Alice Munro
  • 2012 Literature Nobel Prize Winner Mo Yan
  • 2011 Literature Nobel Prize Winner Tomas Transtr?mer
  • 2010 Literature Nobel Prize Winner Mario Vargas Llosa
  • 2009 Literature Nobel Prize Winner Herta M?ller
  • More

Nobel Prize Winners for Peace

  • 2016 Peace Nobel Prize Winner
  • 2015 Peace Nobel Prize Winner Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet
  • 2014 Peace Nobel Prize Winner Malala Yousafzai, Kailash Satyarthi
  • 2013 Peace Nobel Prize Winner Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
  • 2012 Peace Nobel Prize Winner European Union
  • 2011 Peace Nobel Prize Winner Tawakel Karman, Leymah Gbowee, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf
  • 2010 Peace Nobel Prize Winner Liu Xiaobo
  • 2009 Peace Nobel Prize Winner Barack Obama
  • More

Nobel Prize Winners in Economics

  • 2016 Economics Nobel Prize Winner
  • 2015 Economics Nobel Prize Winner Angus Deaton
  • 2014 Economics Nobel Prize Winner
  • 2013 Economics Nobel Prize Winner Lars Peter Hansen, Robert J. Shiller
  • 2012 Economics Nobel Prize Winner Lloyd S. Shapley, Alvin E. Roth
  • 2011 Economics Nobel Prize Winner Christopher A. Sims, Thomas J. Sargent
  • 2010 Economics Nobel Prize Winner Christopher A. Pissarides, Dale T. Mortensen, Peter A. Diamond
  • 2009 Economics Nobel Prize Winner Oliver Williamson, Elinor Ostrom
  • More

Female Nobel Laureates

  • 2011 Female Nobel Laureates Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee, Tawakel Karman.
  • 2010 Female Nobel Laureates Elinor Ostrom
  • 2009 Female Nobel Laureates Elizabeth Blackburn, Carol W. Greider, Ada E. Yonath, Herta Muller, Elinor Ostrom.....    More

Nobel Prize Winners By Country