Nobel Prize Winners in Russia

Year Name Rational
2010Andre GeimFor groundbreaking experiments regarding the two-dimensional material graphene
Konstantin Novoselov
2003Alexei Alexeyevich AbrikosovFor pioneering contributions to the theory of superconductors and superfluids
Vitaly Lazarevich Ginzburg
2000Zhores Ivanovich AlferovFor developing semiconductor heterostructures used in high-speed- and optoelectronics
1978Pyotr Leonidovich KapitsaFor his basic inventions and discoveries in the area of low-temperature physics
1964Nicolay Gennadiyevich BasovFor fundamental work in the field of quantum electronics, which has led to the construction of oscillators and amplifiers based on the maser-laser principle
Aleksandr Prokhorov
1962Lev Davidovich LandauFor his pioneering theories for condensed matter, especially liquid helium
1958Pavel Alekseyevich CherenkovFor the discovery and the interpretation of the Cherenkov effect
Il'ya Frank
Igor Yevgenyevich Tamm

Chemistry Nobel Prize Winners in Russia

Year Name Rational
1956Nikolay Nikolaevich Semenov

Economics Nobel Prize Winners in Russia

Year Name Rational
1975Leonid KantorovichFor their contributions to the theory of optimum allocation of resources

Physiology or Medicine Nobel Prize Winners in Russia

Year Name Rational
1908Ilya Ilyich MechnikovIn recognition of their work on immunity
1904Ivan Petrovich PavlovIn recognition of his work on the physiology of digestion, through which knowledge on vital aspects of the subject has been transformed and enlarged

Peace Nobel Prize Winners in Russia

Year Name Rational
1990Mikhail Sergeyevich GorbachevPresident of the Soviet Union, "for his leading role in the peace process which today characterizes important parts of the international community"
1975Andrei Dmitrievich SakharovFor his struggle for human rights, for disarmament, and for cooperation between all nations

Literature Nobel Prize Winners in Russia

Year Name Language Rational
1970Aleksandr SolzhenitsynRussianFor the ethical force with which he has pursued the indispensable traditions of Russian literature
1965Mikhail SholokhovRussianFor the artistic power and integrity with which, in his epic of the Don, he has given expression to a historic phase in the life of the Russian people
1958Boris PasternakRussianFor his important achievement both in contemporary lyrical poetry and in the field of the great Russian epic tradition
1933Ivan BuninRussianFor the strict artistry with which he has carried on the classical Russian traditions in prose writing