Nobel Prize Winners in Germany

Year Name Rational
2007Peter Gr?nberg
2005Theodor W. H?nsch
2001Wolfgang Ketterle
2000Wolfgang Ketterle
1998Horst Ludwig St?rmer
1989Wolfgang Paul
1987Johannes Georg BednorzFor their important break-through in the discovery of superconductivity in ceramic materials
1986Ernst RuskaFor his fundamental work in electron optics, and for the design of the first electron microscope
Gerd BinnigFor their design of the scanning tunneling microscope
1985Klaus von KlitzingFor the discovery of the quantized Hall effect
1963J. Hans D. Jensen
1961Rudolf Ludwig M?ssbauerFor his researches concerning the resonance absorption of gamma radiation and his discovery in this connection of the effect which bears his name
1954Walther BotheFor the coincidence method and his discoveries made therewith
1932Werner HeisenbergFor the creation of quantum mechanics, the application of which has, inter alia, led to the discovery of the allotropic forms of hydrogen
1925James FranckFor their discovery of the laws governing the impact of an electron upon an atom
Gustav Hertz
1921Albert EinsteinFor his services to Theoretical Physics, and especially for his discovery of the law of the photoelectric effect
1919Johannes StarkFor his discovery of the Doppler effect in canal rays and the splitting of spectral lines in electric fields
1918Max PlanckFor the services he rendered to the advancement of Physics by his discovery of energy quanta
1914Max von LaueFor his discovery of the diffraction of X-rays by crystals, an important step in the development of X-ray spectroscopy.
1911Wilhelm WienFor his discoveries regarding the laws governing the radiation of heat
1909Karl Ferdinand Braun
1905Philipp Eduard Anton von LenardFor his work on cathode rays
1901Wilhelm Conrad R?ntgenIn recognition of the extraordinary services he has rendered by the discovery of the remarkable rays subsequently named after him]

Chemistry Nobel Prize Winners in Germany

Year Name Rational
2007Gerhard ErtlFor his studies of chemical processes on solid surfaces
1988Johann DeisenhoferFor their determination of the three-dimensional structure of a photosynthetic reaction centre
Robert Huber
Hartmut Michel
1979Georg Wittig
1973Ernst Otto FischerFor their pioneering work, performed independently, on the chemistry of the organometallic, so called sandwich compounds
1967Manfred EigenFor their studies of extremely fast chemical reactions, effected by disturbing the equilibrium by means of very short pulses of energy
1963Karl ZieglerFor their discoveries in the field of the chemistry and technology of high polymers
1953Hermann StaudingerFor his discoveries in the field of macromolecular chemistry
1950Otto Paul Hermann DielsFor their discovery and development of the diene synthesis
Kurt Alder
1944Otto HahnFor his discovery of the fission of heavy nuclei
1939Adolf Friedrich Johann ButenandtFor his work on sex hormones
1938Richard KuhnFor his work on carotenoids and vitamins
1931Carl BoschFor their contributions to the invention and development of chemical high pressure methods
Friedrich Bergius
1930Hans FischerFor his researches into the constitution of haemin and chlorophyll and especially for his synthesis of haemin
1929Hans Karl August Simon von Euler-Chelpin
1928Adolf Otto Reinhold WindausFor his research into the constitution of the sterols and their connection with the vitamins
1927Heinrich Otto WielandFor his investigations of the constitution of the bile acids and related substances
1925Richard Adolf ZsigmondyFor his demonstration of the heterogeneous nature of colloid solutions and for the methods he used
1920Walther Hermann NernstFor his work in thermochemistry
1918Fritz HaberFor the synthesis of ammonia from its elements
1915Richard Martin Willst?tterFor his researches on plant pigments, especially chlorophyll
1910Otto WallachFor his services to organic chemistry and the chemical industry by his pioneer work in the field of alicyclic compounds
1909Wilhelm OstwaldFor his work on catalysis and for his investigations into the fundamental principles governing chemical equilibria and rates of reaction
1907Eduard BuchnerFor his biochemical researches and his discovery of cell-free fermentation
1905Johann Friedrich Wilhelm Adolf von BaeyerFor the advancement of organic chemistry and the chemical industry, through his work on organic dyes and hydroaromatic compounds
1902Hermann Emil FischerFor his work on sugar and purine syntheses

Economics Nobel Prize Winners in Germany

Year Name Rational
1994Reinhard Selten

Physiology or Medicine Nobel Prize Winners in Germany

Year Name Rational
2008Harald zur HausenFor his discovery of human papilloma viruses causing cervical cancer
1995Christiane N?sslein-Volhard
1991Erwin NeherFor their discoveries concerning the function of single ion channels in cells
Bert Sakmann
1984Georges J.F. K?hler
1973Karl von FrischFor their discoveries concerning organization and elicitation of individual and social behaviour patterns
1964Feodor Lynen
1956Werner Forssmann
1939Gerhard DomagkFor the discovery of the antibacterial effects of prontosil
1935Hans SpemannFor his discovery of the organizer effect in embryonic development
1931Otto Heinrich WarburgFor his discovery of the nature and mode of action of the respiratory enzyme
1922Otto Fritz MeyerhofFor his discovery of the fixed relationship between the consumption of oxygen and the metabolism of lactic acid in the muscle
1910Albrecht KosselIn recognition of the contributions to our knowledge of cell chemistry made through his work on proteins, including the nucleic substances
1908Paul Ehrlich
1905Robert KochFor his investigations and discoveries in relation to tuberculosis
1901Emil Adolf von BehringFor his work on serum therapy, especially its application against diphtheria, by which he has opened a new road in the domain of medical science and thereby placed in the hands of the physician a victorious weapon against illness and deaths]

Peace Nobel Prize Winners in Germany

Year Name Rational
1971Willy BrandtChancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany; for West Germany's Ostpolitik
1935Carl von OssietzkyFor his struggle against Germany's rearmament
1927Ludwig Quidde
1926Gustav Stresemann

Literature Nobel Prize Winners in Germany

Year Name Language Rational
2009Herta M?llerGermanWho, with the concentration of poetry and the frankness of prose, depicts the landscape of the dispossessed
1999G?nter GrassGermanWhose frolicsome black fables portray the forgotten face of history
1972Heinrich B?llGermanFor his writing which through its combination of a broad perspective on his time and a sensitive skill in characterization has contributed to a renewal of German literature
1929Thomas MannGermanPrincipally for his great novel, Buddenbrooks, which has won steadily increased recognition as one of the classic works of contemporary literature
1912Gerhart HauptmannGermanPrimarily in recognition of his fruitful, varied and outstanding production in the realm of dramatic art
1910Paul von HeyseGermanAs a tribute to the consummate artistry, permeated with idealism, which he has demonstrated during his long productive career as a lyric poet, dramatist, novelist and writer of world-renowned short stories
1908Rudolf Christoph EuckenGermanIn recognition of his earnest search for truth, his penetrating power of thought, his wide range of vision, and the warmth and strength in presentation with which in his numerous works he has vindicated and developed an idealistic philosophy of life
1902Theodor MommsenGermanThe greatest living master of the art of historical writing, with special reference to his monumental work, A History of Rome