LEED Certification Test

LEED Certification stands for Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design. It is a globally recognized certification system for development of a green energy system.

What is LEED Certification Test?

LEED is a certification test to enable professionals to show their expertise and use best practices in the field of green energy in the work environment. The calendar for the test can be found on the website of the US Green Building Council (USGBC).

There are different tiers which are as follows:

  • LEED Professional Credentials
  • LEED Green Associate
  • LEED Fellow


You will be eligible for the LEED certification test if you successfully complete any of the USGBC online courses. You can find the details and register for these coursed on the website www.usgbc.org.


The basic requirement required is that the applicant should be employed by a company which has a requirement for the benefits of LEED certified personnel. The applicant should have a letter from the employer.


  • There are certain restrictions under the LEED program. Therefore it is useful to know about this before applying to avoid disappointment.
  • Boats do not come under the purview of LEED certification program. Even though a boat may be proven to be environmental-friendly, it does not qualify.
  • Any building is eligible under the condition that the USGBC has access to the entire building’s water and energy usage date for a period of 5 years.
  • There are other rules such as the minimum boundary of the building, the size and occupancy rates and so on.


  • Once the registration formalities are done and the exam date is known, then all that is left to the candidate to gather material and start preparation.
  • There are several websites dedicated to LEED study material.
  • A search entitled “LEED preparation” will throw up several websites.
  • While you have to pay for some of the mock tests, several of them are free which are put together by candidates who wrote the test.


The LEED ranking system comprises of the following categories:

  1. Site and Construction Impact: This considers sediment control, erosion and other related factors.
  2. Water Use: This is all about water usage, its conservation and waste water processing systems.
  3. Energy: All systems which utilize energy are evaluated – HVAC systems, by way of example.
  4. Indoor Air Quality: The efficiency of ventilation systems is studied and the adverse effects of chemical fumes and smoke are evaluated.
  5. Innovation of Design: The overall design of the building is taken into consideration and points are awarded accordingly.

Based on the total number of points awarded, a basic LEED certification will need 26 points, a silver rating 33 points, a gold rating 39 points and platinum rating requires 52 points.

Exams Article Archive