The Georgia Assessments for the Certification of Educators, in short GACE Test is designed by the committee members of Georgia educators, educator preparation faculty, and other content and assessment specialists, to evaluate the knowledge and skills of Georgia public school educators. The exam is administered by the Georgia Professional Standards Commission (GaPSC). The main goal of GACE test is to improve the quality of education in Georgia public schools. Registration for GACE test is possible through internet, telephone or mail.

GACE Test Requirements

Candidates should have a bachelor's degree and U.S. citizenship or permanent resident status in order to apply for GACE Test.


The GACE test has the following parts.

  • Basic Skills Assessment.

This includes areas of reading, mathematics, and writing.

  • Content Assessments

This part comprises of the middle grades assessments, the Latin assessment, special education, reading, English language arts, and social studies, special education, mathematics, science and the American Sign Language assessment.

  • Professional Pedagogy Assessment

This part covers the areas of student development and learning, instruction and assessment, and professional roles and responsibilities.

  • Educational Leadership Assessment

This assessment checks the basic skills needed by educators in Georgia public schools.

  • Paraprofessional Assessment

This part evaluates candidate’s knowledge and ability to assist in instructing, reading, writing, and mathematics.


The exam scores will be placed on a scale ranging from 100 to 300. The minimum score to pass the test is 220. As the GACE test includes a number of tests, candidates are required to pass all of them to qualify GACE test. Those who fail can go for a retest as many times as they wish, provided they should complete the registration process prior to each retest. Those who have taken computer based test should wait for 30 days to reappear for the computer based GACE test.

Exams Article Archive