The Council on Certification of Health, Environmental and Safety Technologists (CCHEST) develops and conducts the CCHEST exam, to test and certify the ability, competence and knowledge of workers in the areas of Occupational Health and Occupational Safety.  Health Safety Technicians or Health and Safety Technologist need a CCHEST Certification.  Moreover people, who work in areas where health and safety of the public is of importance, require a CCHEST certification.  CCHEST is a part of the division of the Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP).

CCHEST offers four certification programs, namely

  • Occupational Health and Safety technologist (OHST)
  • Certified Loss Control Specialist (CLCS)
  • Construction Health and Safety Technician (CHST)
  • Safety Trained Supervisor (STS)

OHST/CLCS Certification

OHST and CCLS certification is required for people in occupational health and safety.  Their duties include assessing work-sites, tallying risks and hazards, investigation of unsafe situations, and preparing for an emergency.  OHST/CCLS candidates need to have 35% of their work in occupational health and safety. In addition to five years of experience, they must pass the CCHEST exam for OHST/CLCs certification.   The certification exam is computer based consisting of 200 multiple choice questions and duration of the exam is four hours.

CHST Certification Program

CHST certification is needed by people working in health and safety specialists especially at construction sites.  To appear for the CCHEST exam for certification of CHST, the candidate requires work experience and suitable educational qualification. The computer based four hour certification exam consists of 200 multiple choice questions in content areas of Program Management(29%), Work-site Auditing (40%), Training (27%) and Professional responsibility(4%).

STS Certification

STS Certification from CCHEST is required by professionals working as managers or supervisors, whose duties include safety of the workforce.  To be eligible for the STS certification, the candidate must have good moral character and two years work experience and one year as supervisor.  This CCHST exam is computer based of two hours and 100 multiple choice questions.

The above certification exams have different scoring based on criteria set by CCHEST, like difficulty of questions. 

The BCSP maintains a Review and Study Sources page plus a Library of Safety Practice consisting of all study material for each domain of the exam.

Exams Article Archive