Arizona State University

Established: February 26, 1885 Type: Public research university
Endowment: US $478 million President: Dr. Michael M. Crow
Provost: Dr. Elizabeth D. Capaldi Faculty: 2,862
Students: 64,394 Undergraduates: 51,311
Postgraduates: 13,083 Location: Phoenix metropolitan area, Arizona, USA
Campus: Urban Tempe: 642 acres (2.60 km²)
Polytechnic: 600 acres (2.4 km²) Colors: Maroon and Gold         
West: 248 acres (1.00 km²) Downtown Phoenix: 20 acres
Nickname: Sun Devils Mascot: Sparky
Affiliations: Pac-10 Website:

Arizona State University (ASU) is a community research university including four campuses crossways the Phoenix Metropolitan Area. In 2006-2007 educational years, 13,629 learners studied from four campuses of the university. And in 2007, about 148 National Merit Researchers preferred to focus Arizona State University. Under the Carnegie Categorization of Institutions of Higher Edification, ASU is categorized as a "RU/VH" university.

History of Arizona State University (ASU)

In the beginning named the Tempe Normal School, organization was established on 12th March, 1885 following John Samuel Armstrong primary launched House Bill 164, “An Act to create an Ordinary School in the Territory of Arizona to the 13th Governmental Assembly of the Arizona Territory. Education was introduced on 8th February, 1886 below the management of Principal Hiram Bradford Cultivator. Ground of the school was contributed by Tempe inhabitants Marta Wilson and George, permitting 33 learners to meet in separate room.

Arizona State University Academics

Arizona State University provides 100 majors to graduate students and 250 graduate agenda leading to doctoral and master degrees.  These plans are divided into an excess of dozen schools and colleges, the biggest of which is the academy of Sciences and Liberal Arts. Degrees rewarded consists of                    

  • B.A
  • B.S.E.
  • B.I.S
  • B.S.
  • M.A.
  • M.F.A.
  • M.B.A.
  • M.S.
  • L.L.M.
  • M.Eng.
  • M.M.
  • J.D.
  • P.H.D
  • D.M.A.
Fee details

In 2007-08, guidance was $326 for each educational credit for inhabitants or $747 for each credit for nonresidents’ students, plus pertinent program fees. Learners can also suppose to spend about $2180 for supplies and books, and $3090 for transport, plus $2950 in various private costs. Health insurance expanses $1264 each year.


Arizona State University Campus Facilities

"A unique aspect of Arizona State University (ASU) is that we are 'one university in many places,' not a system with separate campuses, and not one main campus with branch campuses--each campus has a unique identity.”

Arizona State University includes four campuses: the West Campus located in the northwest Phoenix, the Downtown Campus in downtown Phoenix, the Polytechnic Campus located in Eastern Mesa, the Tempe campus, which is the original and largest campus. All campuses were deliberated to host a matchless set of departments and colleges. These four campuses were awarded Bachelor's degrees, Master's degrees, and Doctorates.

Scholarship in Arizona State University(ASU)

The educational branch and institution at Arizona State University (ASU) also provide scholarships. You may achieve these scholarships. Scholarships are typically restricted to learners majoring in a fussy intellectual discipline. All educational division is accountable for presenting these scholarships. That’s why, it is essential for learners to keep in touch with the departments frankly for application deadlines and application.

Cultural Activities in Arizona State University(ASU)

A full variety of programs and activities are offered to AECP learners. Activities comprises field voyages to picturesque districts of Arizona for example language clubs, university sporting, picnics, holiday events and music and drama events, Arizona Diamondback games, health club membership, Phoenix Suns, a Conversation Partners Program and many other campus activities.
Arizona State University campus has a proficient auditorium. It provides full season of dance and music. It also contains nine museums as well as the Nelson Fine Arts Gallery, and also hosts an eminent lecture series.

Arizona State University Libraries

The Libraries of Arizona State University (ASU) have documents and particular collection. These depositories have the Chicano Research Collection, Child Drama Collection, Benedict Visual Literacy Collection, Labriola National American Indian Data Center, Arizona Collection and University Records.
Each of depositories assembled historical and current information in a range of formats as well as periodicals, photographs, personal papers, books, digital information and institutional records.

Education in Arizona State University(ASU)

Arizona State University (ASU) biomedical edification is very extensive. For medium and high school learners applied job experiences accessible in biomedical chiefs for undergraduates, additional than 25 students societies and organizations, minors and certificates, dual degree program with Mayo, doctoral and master degree program and collaboration with UofA Medical School-Phoenix in partnership with  Arizona State University.

Sports in Arizona State University(ASU)

Arizona State University (ASU) succeed national championships in women’s archery 21 times, men’s archery 15 times, diverse archery 20 times, women's badminton 17 times men's badminton 13 times, , mixed badminton 10 times, women's tennis 3 times, baseball 5 times, and men's physical exercises once, men’s field and track one time, women's indoor field and track two times, men's indoor field and track one time, men's golf twice, wrestling once, women's softball three times, women's golf 13 times, and women's swimming and diving 7 times, for a sum of 136 national championships.

The Arizona State University (ASU) comprises the following colleges and schools:

  • College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Herberger College of the Arts
  • W.P. Carey School of Business
  • College of Design
  • Mary Lou Fulton College of Education
  • Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering
  • Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law
  • School of Sustainability