Abel Prize 2015

2015 Abel Prize Details





Origin of Abel Prize

Abel Prize is one of the prestigious monetary awards given to outstanding mathematician by the King of Norway. The Abel Prize has been established on 1st January 2002 to make the discipline more prestigious and encourage young people to participate in scientific work in the field of mathematics. This high status Abel Prize is named after famous Norwegian mathematician Neils Henrik Abel decided by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters declared the winner on 21st March 2012 for the 2012 Abel awards and this time it is Endre Szemeredi (72) who wins the 2012 Abel Prize after John Milnor with 6 Million Norwegian Kroner. Endre Sczemeredi has contributed immense work on discrete mathematics and theoretical computer science that had eternal impact on the additive number theory and ergodic theory.  The Abel award will be presented by the Magesty King Harald at a ceremony on 22 May 2012, at the the University of Oslo Faculty of Law, Oslo.

About Endre Scezemeredi

Endre Scezemeredi is a Hungary born mathematician working as a professor of computer science at Rutgers University, New Jersey and presently. In his early life, Szemeredi switched to mathematics somewhat late after working in a factory. But today, he is one of the world foremost Combinatorialists and well known for his theorem about arithmetic progressions  and made significant contributions to other branches of mathematics by publishing over 200 scientific articles.

The enormously great mind Endre Szemerediahs has been awarded many other awards and honors that include the Leroy P. Steele Prize, the Rolf Schock Prize and many others.

Abel Prize Laureates

Year Laureate(s) Citizenship Institution
2003 Jean-Pierre Serre French Collège de France
2004 Michael Atiyah
Isadore Singer
University of Edinburgh
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2005 Peter Lax Hungarian American Courant Institute
2006 Lennart Carleson Swedish Royal Institute of Technology
2007 S. R. Srinivasa Varadhan American Courant Institute
2008 John G. Thompson
Jacques Tits
University of Florida
Collège de France
2009 Mikhail Gromov Russian
Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques
Courant Institute
2010 John T. Tate American University of Texas at Austin
2011 John Milnor American Stony Brook University
2012 Endre Szemerédi Hungarian American Alfréd Rényi Institute
and Rutgers University
2013 Pierre Deligne Belgian Institute for Advanced Study
2014 Yakov G. Sinai Russian/American Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics
and Princeton University

Nobel Literature Article Archive