2009 Indian General Election Schedule

Detailed Schedule for 2009 General Elections
Poll Event Phases
Phase 1 Phase 2 Phase 3 Phase 4 Phase 5
Phase 2A Phase 2B Phase 3A Phase 3B Phase 3C Phase 5A Phase 5B
Announcement & Issues of Press Notes Mon, 02 Mar
Issue of Notification Mon, 23 Mar Sat, 28 Mar Thu, 02 Apr Sat, 11 Apr Fri, 17 Apr
Last Date for filing Nominations Mon, 30 Mar Sat, 04 Apr Thu, 09 Apr Sat, 18 Apr Fri, 24 Apr
Scrutiny of Nominations Tue, 31 Mar Mon, 06 Apr Sat, 11 Apr Fri, 10 Apr Mon, 20 Apr Sat, 25 Apr
Last Date for Withdrawal of Candidature Thu, 02 Apr Wed, 08 Apr Mon, 13 Apr Wed, 15 Apr Mon, 13 Apr Wed, 22 Apr Mon, 27 Apr Tue, 28 Apr
Date of Poll Thu, 16 Apr Wed, 22 Apr Thu, 23 Apr Thu, 30 Apr Thu, 07 May Wed, 13 May
Counting of Votes Sat, 16 May
Date before which election shall be Completed Thu, 28 May
Number of States & UTs 17 1 12 6 1 4 8 8 1
Number of Parliamentary Constituencies 124 1 140 77 1 29 85 72 14
Polling schedule for each State/UT in 2009 General Elections
States/UTs Constituencies Phases Phase 1 Phase 2 Phase 3 Phase 4 Phase 5 Avg Turnout
16 Apr Turnout 22,23 Apr Turnout 30 Apr 07 May 13 May  
Andaman & Nicobar Islands 1 1 1 62%   -       62%
Andhra Pradesh 42 2 22 69% 20 68%       68.5%
Arunachal Pradesh 2 1 2 62%   -       62%
Assam 14 2 3 62% 11 62%       62%
Bihar 40 4 13 46% 13 44% 11 3    
Chandigarh 1 1   -   -   1    
Chhattisgarh 11 1 11 50%   -       50%
Dadra & Nagar Haveli 1 1   -   - 1      
Daman & Diu 1 1   -   - 1      
Delhi 7 1   -   - 7      
Goa 2 1   - 2 55%        
Gujarat 26 1   -   - 26      
Haryana 10 1   -   - 10      
Himachal Pradesh 4 1   -   -   4    
Jammu & Kashmir 6 5 1 48% 1 46% 1 1 2  
Jharkhand 14 2 6 50% 8 47%       48.5%
Karnataka 28 2   - 17 55% 11      
Kerala 20 1 20 69%   -       69%
Lakshadweep 1 1 1 86%   -       86%
Madhya Pradesh 29 2   - 13 45% 16      
Maharashtra 48 3 13 54% 25 56% 10      
Manipur 2 2 1 66% 1 62%        
Meghalaya 2 1 2 66%   -       66%
Mizoram 1 1 1 52%   -       52%
Nagaland 1 1 1 84%   -       84%
Orissa 21 2 10 53% 11 55%       54%
Puducherry 1 1   -   -   1    
Punjab 13 2   -   - 4 9    
Rajasthan 25 1   -   - 25      
Sikkim 1 1   -   - 1      
Tamil Nadu 39 1   -   -   39    
Tripura 2 1   - 2 78-80%       80%
Uttar Pradesh 80 5 16 50% 17 44% 15 18 14  
Uttarakhand 5 1   -   -   5    
West Bengal 42 3   -   - 14 17 11  
Total Constituencies 543   124 60% 141 55% 107 85 86  
Total States/UTs polling on this day 17 13 11 8 9  
  States/UTs Constituencies  
Number of States & UTs polling in single phase 22 164
Number of States & UTs polling in two phases 8 163
Number of States & UTs polling in three phases 2 90
Number of States & UTs polling in four phases 1 40
Number of States & UTs polling in five phases 2 86
Total 35 543

India Elections Article Archive