Astronomy Prizes

Astronomy Prizes


Astronomy Prizes
Amateur Achievement Award of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific
Annie J. Cannon Award in Astronomy
Barringer Medal
Beatrice M. Tinsley Prize
Brouwer Award (Division on Dynamical Astronomy)
Bruce Medal
Bruno Rossi Prize
Carl Sagan Medal
Carl Sagan Memorial Award
Chambliss Amateur Achievement Award
Chapman Medal
Clifford W. Holmes Award
Dirk Brouwer Award (American Astronautical Society)
Eddington Medal
G. K. Gilbert Award
George Ellery Hale Prize
George Van Biesbroeck Prize
Gerard P. Kuiper Prize
Gold Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society
Gruber Prize in Cosmology
Harold C. Urey Prize
Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics
Helen B. Warner Prize for Astronomy
Henry Draper Medal
Henry Norris Russell Lectureship
Herschel Medal
J. Lawrence Smith Medal
Jackson-Gwilt Medal
Joseph Weber Award for Astronomical Instrumentation
Karl Schwarzschild Medal
Klumpke-Roberts Award
Leonard Medal
Masursky Award
Meteoritical Society's Service Award
Newton Lacy Pierce Prize in Astronomy
Nier Prize
Nininger Meteorite Award
Paul Pellas-Graham Ryder Award
Leslie C. Peltier Award
Price Medal
Prix Guzman
Robert J. Trumpler Award
James Craig Watson Medal
Whipple Award

Shaw Prize laureates


Year Laureate Nationality Rationale
2004 P. James E. Peebles Canada for his contributions to cosmology
2005 Geoffrey Marcy United States for their contributions that led to the discovery of planetary systems
Michel Mayor Switzerland
2006 Saul Perlmutter United States for finding the expansion rate of the accelerating universe and the energy density of space
Adam Riess United States
Brian Schmidt Australia
2007 Peter Goldreich United States for his achievements in theoretical astrophysics and planetary sciences
2008 Reinhard Genzel Germany for demonstrating that the Milky Way's centre contains a supermassive black hole
2009 Frank H. Shu (徐遐生) United States for his lifelong contributions to theoretical astronomy
2010 Charles L. Bennett United States for their contributions to the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe experiment, which helps to determine the geometry, age and composition of the universe
Lyman A. Page Jr. United States
David N. Spergel United States
2011 Enrico Costa Italy for their leadership of space missions that enabled the demonstration of the cosmological origin of gamma ray bursts, the brightest sources known in the universe.
Gerald J. Fishman United States
2012 David Jewitt United States for their discovery and characterization of trans-Neptunian bodies, an archeological treasure dating back to the formation of the solar system and the long-sought source of short period comets.
Jane Luu United States
2013 Steven A. Balbus United States for their discovery and study of the magnetorotational instability, and for demonstrating that this instability leads to turbulence and is a viable mechanism for angular momentum transport in astrophysical accretion disks.
John F. Hawley United States

Free Email Newsletter

Enter Email Address

Sign up
You can opt-out at any time.
Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.
   More in Science

ARIA Awards 2014

26th November 2014