Some terrain is more fun travel by motorcycle and the State of Colorado is one of them. There are a lot of windy and steep mountain roads which people enjoy driving through, while enjoying some spectacular scenery. In Colorado, there is no special motorcycle license – the endorsement is done on the driver’s license with an “M”.
The easiest way to go about getting a license is to go to the local DMV office and take a test. The other alternative is to go through the Motor Safety Foundation course. The basic course is 15 hours which covers all aspects for the novice rider – it will involve a written and also skills test.
In Colorado, liability insurance requirements are as follows:
It is always a good idea to check out prices quoted by different insurance carriers before deciding on which policy to buy – one can maximize protection by getting the right kind of coverage and saving money in the process. As of 2009, new rules have been put in place, which require that riders carry medical coverage to the tune of $5000 as well. This will increase premiums and riders have the right to refuse. Of course, they will have to put this in writing and send a letter to the insurance carrier.
Updated insurance information is always available to law enforcement officials on a database which covers the entire state. Riders are required to carry proof of insurance, the lack of which can draw severe penalties – points added on the license, fines as well as possible suspension of driving privileges.
Each state puts laws in place to encourage safe driving habits on the part of residents and visitors. Insurance companies also have an interest in ensuring that their customers are doing the right thing.