New Mexico is known for its firm approach in enforcement of auto insurance laws. The New Mexico law states that drivers need to carry a minimum liability insurance of $20,000 for injury or death, $50,000 per accident for injury or death of more than two people and a $10,000 for property damage. They can also opt for a cash deposit of $60,000 with the state treasurer to prove responsibility. The state of New Mexico has invested in a database to track the insurance status of all citizens. If caught driving a car without a valid insurance then a fine of $300 or more is charged to the driver. Hence it is only prudent to invest in a car insurance in New Mexico and not take chances.
Tips for Finding Cheap Car Insurance in New Mexico
- By now it is pretty much clear that people do not want to over pay for their car insurance. In order to find a cheap and good insurance one has to put in some extra effort and some tips will surely give direction to make your task a little easier.
- Comparing quotes online is the first step to looking for a cheap car insurance. This helps you create an affordable policy that also gives you the required protection.
- When comparing quotes make sure that you compare the prices having the same parameters. In simple words compare apples with apples.
- The minimum coverage set by the state law may not always be the cheapest. Accidents cost more than one can imagine and so go for a cover of $300,000 total.
- Always ask for discounts. Once you get the quotes call the customer care and get them to reduce the premium before preparing the final documents. It always works.
Cheap Car Insurance by State
Car Insurance Related Articles