Mental Health Services

Mental health services is one of the grey areas of health care. Mental illness is spoken about in hushed whispers and usually brushed under the carpet. The lifestyle risk leading to behavior issues and social breakdown has led to an increase in the scope of mental illness. Apart from hereditary mental illness, more and more children and young adults come into the ambit of psychological problems. To the government's credit, much has been done to improve and understand mental health problems and services.

Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS)

Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS) was established under the 1992 ADAMHA Reorganization Act, Public Law102-321 that mandates Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS) leadership role in delivering mental health services, generating and applying new knowledge, and establishing a national health policy. CMHS is a component of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) US Department of Health and Human services.

Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS) leads federal effort to treat mental illness by creating awareness of mental health and taking preventive steps to curb psychological problems. Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS) brings hope to adults and children with severe emotional disturbances. Center for mental health services (CMHS) stated mission is to help states to improve and increase the quality and range of their treatments, rehabilitation and support services for people with mental illness.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) believes in the 'life in the community for everyone' approach to mental illness. They facilitate more and more patients with less severe problems to step out of the shadows of stigma and exclusion and receive the care, which is available.

Mental Health Service Providers:

Mental Health opens up a varied field of employment. The service providers range from specialist doctors, nurses and attendants who help a patient in their every day tasks. Some mental health providers are psychiatrists, psychologists, psychotherapists, social workers, nurses, health counselors, pastoral counselors etc.

Mental Health Service Act (MHSA)

Proposition 63, when approved by the voters became part of state law on January 2005 and is called the Mental Health Services Act.

Mental Health Service Act (MHSA) imposes a 1% tax on that portion of a taxpayers taxable income in excess of one million dollars. The funds so collected are deposited in the State Treasury in the Mental Health Service fund.

Mental Health Service Act (MHSA) objectives are

1) Define serious mental illness among children, adults and elders as a condition deserving priority attention. To provide early intervention services, medical and supportive care and preventive steps

2) To reduce long-term adverse impact on families, individuals and state budgets, resulting from untreated mental illness.

3) To identify and enroll children and adults with mental health issues in this program and allocate funds for treatment.

The Mental Health Service Act (MHSA) initiative provides health care through an extensive stakeholder process.

Tri-County Mental Health Service:

Tri-County mental health service working for more than 50 years is committed to providing the people of Maine with excellent mental health care, substance abuse rehabilitation and lifestyle skills. They prioritize services to people with severe and chronic disabilities. Service is provided in appropriate and least restrictive of surroundings and family members are included.

Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services (CAMHS) :

Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services (CAMHS) promotes and psychological well being of children and young people by providing high quality multi-disciplinary mental health service to children and adolescents with mental disorders. Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services (CAMHS) delivers service in line with a four tier strategic framework.

In Tier 1 service is provided by people who are not mental health specialist like GP's, health visitors, school nurses, teachers, social workers and voluntary agencies. They offer general advice, identify problems and refer to specialist's treatment if required.

In Tier 2 service is provided by practitioners who are Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services (CAMHS) doctors working in community mental health centers and primary care in a uni-disciplinary manner.

In Tier 3, a multi-disciplinary team of doctors works in a community mental health clinic or child psychiatry outpatient clinic providing specialist treatment

In Tier 4 are essential tertiary services for children and young people.

The Federal Individual with Disabilities Education act provides for children with identified emotional and physical problems to receive a special education to enable them to lead a productive life in the community. This act also includes mental health treatment for children and young people with emotional problems (AB-3632 mental health services). These special education pupils receive mental health services from the County Mental Health Department.

Christian Mental Health Services:

The Christian mental health services is a non-profit organization working in many states by providing behavioral health service professionally by incorporating Christian values of compassion and integrity. Christian mental health services base their treatment on the teachings of the Bible.