Missouri Taxes

Missouri Tax Guide

Missouri taxpayers who are liable to pay income taxes to the Missouri Department of Revenue have legal aid under the state's Taxpayer Bill of Rights to dispute their tax evaluation and to get fair tax treatment from the tax department. Missouri citizen and nonresidents who earn income and fall under the limits of tax must file their state tax returns.

Missouri Tax Guide for Mandatory Filing

Missouri facilitates a standard tax table to evaluate minimum filing requirements according to the state's adjusted gross income rules. Single taxpayers below age 65 should file a Missouri state tax return if their income goes beyond $7,800. Single taxpayers age 65 and above must file a Missouri state tax return in case their income exceeds the $9,200 slab. Taxpayers filing jointly and both spouses or 65 and older, should file a tax return in case their joined income goes beyond $17,800. Taxpayers below age 65 who file taxes jointly should file tax return in case they earn more than $15,600. Taxpayers who are married but did not file jointly should file tax if each of their incomes goes beyond $2,100. Under Missouri's tax law, if a taxpayer is not required to file federal tax returns, they are not required to file a Missouri state tax returns as well.

Missouri Personal Exemption Amounts

As per a taxpayer's filing status, Missouri tax guidelines offer an exemption, similar to the federal tax rebate. Currently, the federal personal exemption is $3,650 for single taxpayers. Missouri taxpayers can get $2,100 as single exemption. Married taxpayers, filing jointly, receive a $4,200 exemption. Married taxpayers filing tax return separately can receive a $2,100 exemption each.

Amendments in Missouri Tax Guide

Taxpayers can also apply for refunds in case they have overpaid their tax liabilities, which should be filed in two years of filing their returns.

Missouri Tax Guide - Statute of Limitations

The Missouri Department of Revenue complies with the statutory limitations and is provided with three years from when taxpayers file their tax returns to evaluate tax liabilities for their income tax liabilities. Although, the Department of Revenue has no limited amount of time to collect liabilities from taxpayers. Those Missouri taxpayers who fail to report over one-fourth of their adjusted gross income, the Department of Revenue can send them assessments up to six years from the time of their filing their tax returns.

Prior Year MO 1040 Missouri Individual Income Tax Forms

2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010

Where to Mail FEDERAL IRS Tax Forms Within Missouri:

IRS Form If you ARE NOT Enclosing a Payment, Use This Address: If you ARE Enclosing Payment, Use This Address:
1040: Department of the Treasury
Internal Revenue Service
Kansas City, MO 64999-0002
Internal Revenue Service
P.O. Box 970011
St. Louis, MO 63197-0011
1040A: Department of the Treasury
Internal Revenue Service
Kansas City, MO 64999-0015
Internal Revenue Service
P.O. Box 970011
St. Louis, MO 63197-0011
1040EZ: Department of the Treasury
Internal Revenue Service
Kansas City, MO 64999-0014
Internal Revenue Service
P.O. Box 970011
St. Louis, MO 63197-0011

Missouri Tax Help

(573) 751-4450

Refund Information:

(573) 751-3505

Tax Forms:
(800) 877-6881