Bollywood Filmfare Awards 2016

Date: Jan 2016

Venue: Mumbai, India

Location: Yash Raj Studio, Mumbai.

The Bollywood Filmfare Awards history has an endearing spirit that is infectious to all those who are associated with it, directly or indirectly. Through the years, it has evolved to be the Oscars of Indian Cinema to honour the best talents of Bollywood, and to encourage the talented ones of the motion picture industry tangibly. For the Indian Film industry, this is an award which is eagerly awaited and the readers of the magazine poll their choices and try to decide who will win and who will not. The Filmfare Awards is a pursuit to salute the industry which is a uniquely independent and different from the film industries across the globe. From the day of its inception, it has stood out as a keenly contested event with the message: Good triumphs over mediocrity!

The Filmfare Awards are organized by The Times Group and recognizes both artistic and technical talents of the Hindi Film Industry. One of the oldest and most prominent film events given for Hindi films in India, the awards had been first introduced in the year 1954.Initially this award was known as the Clare Awards after the name of the editor of The Times of India, Clare Mendionca. A dual voting system decides the winner of the Filmfare Awards, that is, “in contrast to the National Film Awards, which are decided by a panel appointed by Indian Government, the Filmfare Awards are voted for by both the public and a committee of experts."


As had been explained earlier, the Filmfare awards which were previously known as the Clare Awards began in the year 1954. Over 20,000 readers of the magazine participated in the polls to decide the winners. The first Filmfare Awards was held on 21 March, 1954. The venue was the Metro Theatre of Mumbai. In that year, only five awards were presented:

  • Best Film
  • Best Director
  • Best Actor
  • Best Actress
  • Best Music Director

The first film to be awarded the Best Film was Do Bigha Zameen. Bimal Roy got the award for the Best Director for his direction of Do Bigha Zameen. While Dilip Kumar bagged the Best Actor Award for his performance in Daag, Meena Kumari got the award for the Best Actress for her performance in Baiju Bawra. Naushad got the Best Music Director Award for his music in Baiju Bawra.

The Awards of Bollywood Filmfare

The Bollywood Filmfare Awards has evolved a lot over the years. As of 2010, there are about 37 awards given under four separate categories - Popular Awards, Critics Awards, Special Awards and Technical Awards. Also, the film-critics award is a special category which is decided by a jury of film-critics rather than popular votes. These are the awards that are given away following categories:

Merit Awards

  • Best Film
  • Best Director
  • Best Actor
  • Best Actress
  • Best Supporting Actor
  • Best Supporting Actress
  • Best Performance in a Negative Role
  • Best Performance in a Comic Role
  • Best Male Debut
  • Best Female Debut
  • Best Music Director
  • Best Lyricist
  • Best Male Playback Singer
  • Best Female Playback Singer

Technical Awards

  • Best Story
  • Best Screenplay
  • Best Dialogue
  • Best Action
  • Best Art Direction
  • Best Background Score
  • Best Cinematography
  • Best Editing
  • Best Choreography
  • Best Sound Recording
  • Best Special Effects
  • Best Costume Design

Critics Awards

  • Critics Award Best Movie
  • Critics Award Best Actor 
  • Critics Award Best Actress 
  • Best Documentary 

Special Awards

  • Lifetime Achievement
  • Special Performance Award
  • Best Scene of the Year
  • RD Burman Award for New Music Talent
  • Best Film of 50 Years