Academy Governors Awards

About The Academy

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is the most significant organization for films and motion arts. More than 6,000 prominent men and women working in cinema are the members of the Academy. The Academy Awards Governors Awards are a part of this Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
The Academy also extends its financial support to movie-related organizations and endeavors. Through their various organizations, like the Margaret Herrick Library and Academy Film Archive, they also serve the students, historians and the entertainment industry.
The annual Academy Awards that are awarded in recognition to the outstanding contribution to motion picture are voted by the members to select the nominees and winners.

Academy Awards: Governors Awards

The Governors Awards that is given away in the Academy Awards is conferred by the Academy's Board of Governors.
Mainly two awards are given away in this category:

  • Irving G. Thalberg Award
  • Honorary Award

The nominees and the winner of the Irving G. Thalberg Award are decided by the Academy’s Board of Governors. The “creative producers whose bodies of work reflect a consistently high quality of motion picture production” are considered for this award.  The award is named after the man, Irving G. Thalberg, who was the head of production at the Universal Film Manufacturing Co. at the age of 20 only. He later became the vice-president of Universal Film Manufacturing Co. and head of production for Louis B. Mayer. 
The trophy that is presented as the Irving G. Thalberg Award has a solid bronze head of Irving Thalberg on a base made of black marble. The weight is about 10 and 3/4 pounds and it is nine inches tall. The bust that is made to sculpt this award was sculpted by Gualberto Rocchi in 1957 to be first used when William Wyler was presented the Irving G. Thalberg Award in 1966 at the 38th Academy Awards.

Thalberg Award Recipients

  • 2010 (83rd) – Francis Ford Coppola
  • 2009 (82nd) – John Calley
  • 2000 (73rd) – Dino de Laurentiis
  • 1999 (72nd) – Warren Beatty
  • 1998 (71st) – Norman Jewison
  • 1996 (69th) – Saul Zaentz
  • 1994 (67th) – Clint Eastwood
  • 1991 (64th) – George Lucas
  • 1990 (63rd) – Richard D. Zanuck & David Brown
  • 1987 (60th) – Billy Wilder
  • 1986 (59th) – Steven Spielberg
  • 1981 (54th) – Albert R. Broccoli
  • 1979 (52nd) – Ray Stark
  • 1977 (50th) – Walter Mirisch
  • 1976 (49th) – Pandro S. Berman
  • 1975 (48th) – Mervyn LeRoy
  • 1973 (46th) – Lawrence Weingarten
  • 1970 (43rd) – Ingmar Bergman
  • 1967 (40th) – Alfred Hitchcock
  • 1966 (39th) – Robert Wise
  • 1965 (38th) – William Wyler
  • 1963 (36th) – Sam Spiegel
  • 1961 (34th) – Stanley Kramer
  • 1958 (31st) – Jack L. Warner
  • 1956 (29th) – Buddy Adler
  • 1953 (26th) – George Stevens
  • 1952 (25th) – Cecil B. DeMille
  • 1951 (24th) – Arthur Freed
  • 1950 (23rd) – Darryl F. Zanuck
  • 1948 (21st) – Jerry Wald
  • 1946 (19th) – Samuel Goldwyn
  • 1944 (17th) – Darryl F. Zanuck
  • 1943 (16th) – Hal B. wallis
  • 1942 (15th) – Sidney Franklin
  • 1941 (14th) – Walt Disney
  • 1939 (12th) – David O. Selznick
  • 1938 (11th) – Hal B. Wallis
  • 1937 (10th) – Darryl F. Zanuck

Honorary Award

The Honorary Awards are presented to the respective persons for their lifetime achievements and exceptional contributions to the motion picture and film industry and to the Academy. It is decided by the Board of Governors. However, the Honorary Awards are not awarded every year. This is an award that is most popular among the public.
Interestingly, it is not obligatory that the Honorary Award has to be an Oscar statuette. For example, in 1937, Edgar Bergen got a wooden Oscar statuette with a movable mouth “for his outstanding comedy creation, ‘Charlie McCarthy.’” Disney got an Oscar statuette and seven miniature statuettes on a stepped base for his “Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs.”
A filmmaker for whom there has been no annual Academy Award category can be honored by this award. Examples are, the Honorary Award given to choreographer Michael Kidd in 1996 and the animator Chuck Jones back in 1995. Sometimes, even an organization can be awarded the Honorary Award. The National Film Board of Canada in 1988 and the company, Eastman Kodak received this Award in 1088.

Governors Awards In 2010

In 2010, the Irving G. Thalberg Award was received by the Producer-director Francis Ford Coppola while historian and preservationist Kevin Brownlow, director Jean-Luc Godard and actor Eli Wallach received the Honorary Awards at the 2010 Governors Awards in the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland in Hollywood.

Kevin BrownlowKevin Brownlow Francis Ford Coppola
Kevin Brownlow Francis Ford Coppola
Jean-Luc Godard Eli Wallach
Jean-Luc Godard Eli Wallach