U.S. Department of Commerce

It is the Cabinet department of the U.S. government worried with promoting financial enlargement. The mission of the United States Department of Commerce is to “promote job creation and improved living for all citizens who creating an infrastructure that promotes economic growth, technological competitiveness, and sustainable development”. Among its tasks are meeting the economic and structure of population info for government and business selecting a logical choice from the available option, issuing government authority which helps to set high standards. The Economic Development Administration headquarters is at Herbert C. Hoover Building in Washington, D.C.


On February 14, 1903, the department of Commerce and Labor was originally created. The main purpose of this organization is creating jobs, raise economic growth, upheld development and improve the standards of all citizens. The department name is renamed as Department of Commerce on 1913, as the specializing departments in labor were transferred to the new Department of Labor. From 1931 to 1939 the United States Patent and Trademark Office were transferred into Commerce department and Federal Employment Stabilization Office in this department. The conditions were shifted from the agriculture and the Civil Aeronautics Authority departments are merged in to this in 1940. Due to the closing down of the Federal Works Agency the Public Roads Administration was added to this department in 1949. In 1958, the foundation of independent Federal Aviation Agency and after the Civil Aeronautics Authority was formally ended. In 1965, the Economic Development Administration was established. In 1966 the Bureau of Public Roads was transferred to transportation department. The current secretary of United States Department of Commerce led by Penny Pritzker.


  • United States Secretary of Commerce
  • United States Deputy Secretary of Commerce
  • Under Secretary of Commerce for Economic Affairs
  • Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA)
  • Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
  • Bureau of the Census
  • Under Secretary of Commerce for International Trade
  • International Trade Administration (ITA)
  • Under Secretary of Commerce for Industry and Security
  • Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS)
  • Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere
  • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
  • National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
  • National Weather Service (NWS)
  • National Ocean Service (NOS)
  • Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research (OAR)
  • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Commissioned Corps (NOAA Corps)
  • Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property
  • Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
  • Economic Development Administration (EDA)
  • Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA)
  • National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA)
  • National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
  • National Technical Information Service (NTIS)