NewNowNext Awards 2014

December 7, 2014
Host Newnownext Awards 2014
Edition Time Network

2014 NewNowNext awards nominees & winners

Best New Television Series:

  • Broad City
  • How To Get Away With Murder
  • Looking
  • Outlander
  • Transparent

Best New Television Actor:

  • Jay Duplass, Transparent
  • Jonathan Groff, Looking
  • Thomas Middleditch, Silicon Valley
  • Pedro Pascal, Game of Thrones
  • Justin Theroux, The Leftovers

Best New Television Actress:

  • Ilana Glazer, Broad City
  • Gaby Hoffmann, Transparent
  • Molly Parker, House of Cards
  • Katie Stevens, Faking It
  • Lorraine Toussaint, Orange is the New Black

Best New Television Personality:

  • Pete Davidson, Saturday Night Live
  • Bianca Del Rio, RuPaul’s Drag Race
  • John Oliver, Last Week Tonight With John Oliver
  • Gwen Stefani, The Voice
  • Neil deGrasse Tyson, Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey


Best Motion Picture By a New Filmmaker:

  • Dear White People, Justin Simien
  • The Fault in Our Stars, Josh Boone
  • Guardians of the Galaxy, James Gunn
  • Snowpiercer, Bong Joon-ho
  • The Theory of Everything, James Marsh

Best New Screenwriter:

  • Gillian Flynn, Gone Girl
  • Craig Johnson (with Mark Heyman), The Skeleton Twins
  • Gillian Robespierre, Obvious Child
  • Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias, Love Is Strange
  • Justin Simien, Dear White People

Best New Lead Film Actor

  • Ellar Coltrane, Boyhood
  • Ansel Elgort, The Fault In Our Stars
  • Dylan O’Brien, The Maze Runner
  • Chris Pratt, Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Miles Teller, Whiplash

Best New Lead Film Actress

  • Carrie Coon, Gone Girl
  • Natalie Dormer, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1
  • Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Belle
  • Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
  • Jenny Slate, Obvious Child


Best New Musician (Male)

  • Hozier
  • Nick Jonas
  • John Newman
  • Paolo Nutini
  • Sam Smith

Best New Musician (Female)

  • Iggy Azalea
  • Charli XCX
  • Mary Lambert
  • Meghan Trainor
  • Betty Who

Best New Music Group

  • A Great Big World
  • Bastille
  • Bleachers
  • Disclosure
  • Pentatonix


Best New Broadway Production (Musical)

  • Beautiful: The Carole King Musical
  • Cabaret
  • Hedwig and the Angry Inch
  • If/Then
  • Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar and Grill

Best New Broadway Production (Play)

  • The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
  • It’s Only a Play
  • Mothers and Sons
  • A Raisin in The Sun
  • This Is Our Youth

Best New Broadway Lead Actor

  • Michael Cera, This Is Our Youth
  • Bryan Cranston, All The Way
  • Rupert Grint, It’s Only a Play
  • Chris O’Dowd, Of Mice and Men
  • Alexander Sharp, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Best New Broadway Lead Actress

  • Rose Byrne, You Can’t Take It With You
  • Tavi Gevinson, This Is Our Youth
  • Maggie Gyllenhaal, The Real Thing
  • Sophie Okonedo, A Raisin in The Sun
  • Michelle Williams, Cabaret