Juno Awards 2012

Venue: Scotiabank Place

Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Date: 1 April 2012

Juno Awards 2012 Performances

Blue Rodeo
City and Colour
Sarah McLachlan

Juno Awards 2012 Nominations & Winners

Artist of the Year

  • City and Colour
  • Michael Buble
  • Drake
  • Fiest
  • Nickelback

Album of the Year

  • Justin Bieber, Under the Mistletoe
  • Michael Bublé, Christmas
  • Drake, Take Care
  • Avril Lavigne, Goodbye Lullabye
  • Nickelback, Here and Now

Alternate Album of the Year

  • Braids, Native Speaker
  • Destroyer, Kaputt
  • Fucked Up, David Comes to Life
  • Dan Mangan, Oh Fortune
  • Timber Timbre, Creep On Creepin' On

Aboriginal Album of the Year

  • Bruthers of Different Muthers, Speakers of Tomorrow
  • Flying Down Thunder and Rise Ashen, One Nation
  • Donny Parenteau, To Whom it May Concern
  • Murray Porter, Songs Lived and Life Played
  • Randy Wood, The Gift of Life

Adult Alternative album of the Year

  • Jim Cuddy, Skyscraper Soul
  • Cuff the Duke, Morning Comes
  • Feist, Metals
  • Jenn Grant, Honeymoon Punch
  • Ron Sexsmith, Long Player Late Bloomer

Blues Album of the Year

  • Bill Johnson, Still Blue
  • David Gogo, Soul Bender
  • Harrison Kennedy, Shame the Devil
  • MonkeyJunk, To Behold
  • Suzie Vinnick, Me 'n' Mabel

Classical Album Of the Year (Solo and Vocal)

  • Canadian Brass, Brahms on Brass
  • Marc-André Hamelin, Liszt Piano Sonata
  • Susan Hoeppner, American Flute Masterpieces
  • Louis Lortie, Louis Lortie Plays Liszt
  • New Orford String Quartet, Schubert and Beethoven
  • Jane Archibald with the Orchestre Symphonique Bienne (Thomas Rösner, conductor), Haydn Arias
  • Karina Gauvin and Marie-Nicole Lemieux, Handel: Streams of Pleasure
  • Marie-Josée Lord and the Orchestre Métropolitain (Giuseppe Pietraroia, conductor), Marie-Josée Lord
  • Le Nouvel Opéra, Caldara: La Conversione di Clodoveo
  • Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra with Daniel Taylor

Classical Composition of the Year

  • Dreek Charke
  • Marc-André Hamelin, Liszt Piano Sonata
  • Susan Hoeppner, American Flute Masterpieces
  • Louis Lortie, Louis Lortie Plays Liszt
  • New Orford String Quartet, Schubert and Beethoven

Children’s Album of the Year

  • Bobs & Lolo, Connecting the Dots
  • Eddie Douglas, Sleepy Sky Lullaby
  • Charlie Hope, Songs, Stories and Friends: Let's Go Play!
  • Music with Brian, Everyone
  • Vocal Paint, My Butterfly/A Cappella Lullabies

Contemporary Jazz Album of the Year

  • Phil Dwyer Orchestra feat
  • Downhere, On the Altar of Love
  • Hawk Nelson, Crazy Love
  • Kellie Loder, Imperfections & Directions
  • Sky Terminal, Don't Close Your Eyes

Country Album of the Year

  • Terri Clark, Roots and Wings
  • Doc Walker, 16 & 1
  • High Valley, High Valley
  • Jason McCoy, Everything
  • Jimmy Rankin, Forget About the World

Dance Recording of the Year

  • Anjulie, "Brand New Chick"
  • Deadmau5, "Aural Psynapse"
  • Duck Sauce, "Barbra Streisand"
  • Mia Martina, "Devotion"
  • Martin Solveig and Dragonette, "Hello"

Group of the Year

  • Arkells
  • Down with Webster
  • Hedley
  • Nickelback
  • Sam Roberts Band

Instrumental Album of the Year

  • Andrew Collins, Cats & Dogs
  • MAZ, Téléscope
  • L'Orkestre des Pas Perdus, L'Âge du cuivre
  • Colin Stetson, New History Warfare Vol. 2: Judges
  • Stretch Orchestra, Stretch Orchestra

New Artist of the Year

  • Diamond Rings
  • JRDN
  • Dan Mangan
  • Lindi Ortega
  • Alyssa Reid

Juno Fan Choice Award

  • Arcade Fire
  • Justin Bieber
  • Michael Buble
  • City and Colour
  • Deadmau5
  • Drake
  • Hedley
  • Avril Lavigne
  • Nickelback
  • Ginette Reno

Jack Richardson Producer of the Year

  • David Foster ("White Christmas", Michael Bublé)
  • Brian Howes ("Heaven's Gonna Wait", Hedley and "Trying Not to Love You", Nickelback)
  • k.d. lang ("I Confess" and "Sugar Buzz", k.d. lang)
  • Bob Rock ("Only the Lonely", Jann Arden)
  • Noah "40" Shebib ("Marvin's Room" and "Take Care", Drake)

International Album of the Year

  • Adele, 21
  • Coldplay, Mylo Xyloto
  • Lady Gaga, Born This Way
  • LMFAO, Sorry for Party Rocking
  • Rihanna, Loud

Music DVD of the Year

  • David Francey: Burning Bright (Tony Girardin)
  • Feist: Look at What the Light Did Now (Anthony Seck, Janine McInnes and Chip Sutherland)
  • Peter Katz: Live at the Music Gallery (Tim Martin, Framebender and Peter Katz)
  • Rush: Time Machine 2011: Live in Cleveland (Scot McFadyen, Sam Dunn and Peggi Cecconi)
  • Tegan and Sara: Get Along (Elinor Svoboda-Salazar, Tegan Quin, Sara Quin, Piers Henwood and Nick Blasko)

Recording Engineer of the Year

  • George Seara ("A Little Bit of Love", Michael Kaeshammer and "Let Go", Laila Biali)
  • Chris Shreenan-Dyck ("Everybody Watched the Wedding" and "Watch Yourself Go", Jim Cuddy)
  • David Travers-Smith ("All the Stars", The Wailin' Jennys and "Soon the Birds", Oh Susanna)
  • Michael Phillip Wojewoda ("Circle" and "Mama", Paisley Jura)
  • Jeff Wolpert ("You're Not Alone" and "Cosmic Ballet", Sarah Slean)

Pop Album of the Year

  • Down with Webster, Time to Win,
  • Hedley, Storms
  • Avril Lavigne, Goodbye Lullabye
  • Lights, Siberia
  • Marianas Trench, Ever After

New Group of the Year

  • Braids
  • Hey Rosetta!
  • Mother Mother The Rural Alberta Advantage
  • The Sheepdogs

Rock Album of the Year

  • Arkells, Michigan Left
  • Matthew Good, Lights of Endangered Species
  • Sam Roberts, Collider
  • The Sheepdogs, Learn & Burn
  • Sloan, The Double Cross

Rap Recording of the Year

  • Classified, Handshakes and Middle Fingers
  • D-Sisive, Jonestown 2: Jimmy Go Bye-Bye
  • Drake, Take Care
  • Kardinal Offishall, Anywhere (Ol' Time Killin' Pt. 2)
  • Swollen Members, Dagger Mouth

Soul Recording of the Year

Reggae Recording of the Year

  • Jully Black, "Set it Off (feat. Kardinal Offishall)"
  • Melanie Fiona, "Gone and Never Coming Back"
  • Robin Thicke, "Pretty Lil Heart (feat. Lil Wayne)"
  • Karl Wolf, "Ghetto Love (feat. Kardinal Offishall)"

Single of the Year

  • City and Colour, "Fragile Bird"
  • Hedley, "Invincible"
  • Nickelback, "When We Stand Together"
  • Johnny Reid, "Let's Go Higher"
  • The Sheepdogs, "I Don't Know"

Songwriter of the Year

  • Jim Cuddy, "Everyone Watched the Wedding", "Skyscraper Soul" and "Watch Yourself Go Down"
  • Feist, "How Come You Never Go There", "Graveyard" and "The Circle Married the Line"
  • Dallas Green, "Fragile Bird", "We Found Each Other" and "Weightless"
  • Dan Mangan, "About as Helpful As You Can Be Without Being Any Help at All", "Post-War Blues" and "Oh Fortune"
  • Ron Sexsmith, "Get in Line", "Believe it When I See It" and "Middle of Love"

Traditional Jazz Album of the Year

  • David Braid, Verge
  • Dave Young Quintet, Aspects of Oscar
  • Oliver Jones, Live in Baden
  • Kirk MacDonald Orchestra, Deep Shadows
  • Mike Murley Septet, Still Rollin'

Vocal Jazz Album of the Year

  • Sonia Johnson, Le Carré de nos amours
  • Fern Lindzon, Two Kites
  • Sophie Milman, In the Moonlight
  • The Nylons, Skin Tight
  • Diana Panton, To Brazil with Love

Video of the Year

  • Jon Busby ("Rows of Houses", Dan Mangan)
  • José Lourenço ("Stamp", The Rural Alberta Advantage)
  • Michael Maxxis ("Good Day at the Races", Hollerado)
  • John JP Poliquin ("The Stand", Mother Mother)
  • Mike Roberts ("Rumbleseat", The Sadies)

World Music Album of the Year

  • Kiran Ahluwalia, Aam Zameen: Common Ground
  • Azam Ali, From Night to the Edge of Day
  • Aboulaye Kone and Bolo Kan, Afo Gné
  • Aline Morales, Flores, Tambores e Amores
  • Socalled, Sleepover