Gotham Awards 2016

November 28, 2016
Host Gotham Awards 2015
Cipriani Wall Street
Time Network

The Gotham Awards are an American film awards started in the year 1991 by Independent Feature Project (IFP) in New York City. It is the largest membership organization founded in 1979 in the United States. The organization of Gotham Awards is dedicated to provide early recognition and honors worthy independent films that made primarily in the Northeastern region of the United States.

The celebrations of the Gotham Awards include recognizing the authentic voices that work not only behind the camera but also in front of the camera. Besides, it also honors the best independent films, best emerging, best iconic filmmakers and actors of today’s entertainment world.


The most important criteria for nominating any American feature film includes the works that are independently produced or directed by US based or US born film makers made with a point of view. Every year the nominations are chosen by a jury of 25 innovators including groups of distinguished film critics, journalists, festival programmers, film curators and icons. Separate juries of writers, directors, actors, producers, editors and others directly involved in making films will determine the final Gotham Award recipients. For the Audience award which is given for the third consecutive year the winner is chosen across the globe through the results of voting.


The award categories have expanded to seven categories. Gotham Awards recognize and honor the individuals who have made significant contributions to independent filmmaking. The expanded categories have included filmmakers beyond New York, and moved the awards ceremony to “awards season”. The six categories of Gotham Awards are Best Feature, Best Documentary, Breakthrough Actor, Breakthrough Director and Best Ensemble Performance.

Gotham Awards 2016 Nominees & Winners

nominees will be disclosed soon...