Glaad Media Awards 2014

Saturday 12th April, 2014
Saturday 3 May, 2014
Ross Mathews
Glaad Media Awards 2014
The Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles
Waldorf Astoria in New York City
5.30 PM


The GLAAD Media Award was awarded primarily in 1990 by the Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD). This award is an accolade bestowed to recognize and honor various branches of the media for their outstanding representations of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community and the issues that affect their lives.

Venue of the event:

The 24th Annual GLAAD Media Awards ceremony honoring the 2012 season was held in three separate places i.e. New York City on March 16, 2013; in Los Angeles on April 20, 2013; and in San Francisco on May 11, 2013.


Over the years, the competitive categories have been expanded and in 2013 GLAAD considered 153 nominees in 25 English-language categories and 8 Spanish-language categories. Several categories included in the GLAAD award are film, theatre, music, print media, digital media and advertising.

In addition to the GLAAD Media competitive categories, special non-competitive "Honorary Awards" are also been presented and they have also been expanded to recognize the diversity of contributions of respective honorees.

Selection Process:

The nominees are selected by voters and volunteers of GLAAD Media Award and the process is evaluated using four criteria:

  • Fair, Accurate and Inclusive Representations of the LGBT community
  • Boldness and Originality of the project
  • Significant Cultural Impact on mainstream culture and
  • Overall Quality of the project

The results obtained are certified by the Review Panel of GLAAD Media. They determine the final list of recipients through voting results.

Glaad Media Awards 2014 Nominees & Winners

Outstanding Film - Wide Release

"Blue Is the Warmest Color" - Winner
"Dallas Buyers Club"
"Kill Your Darlings"
"The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones"

Outstanding Film - Limited Release

"Concussion" - Winner
"Geography Club"
"Out in the Dark"
"Reaching for the Moon"

Outstanding Drama Series

"The Fosters" - Winner

"Grey's Anatomy"
"Orphan Black"
"Pretty Little Liars"

Outstanding Comedy Series

"Brooklyn Nine-Nine"
"Modern Family"
"Orange is the New Black" - Winner
"Please Like Me"

Outstanding Individual Episode (in a series without a regular LGBT character)

"Bride and Prejudice" - "The Soul Man"
"LARP and the Real Girl" - "Supernatural"
"Secret Lives" - "Drop Dead Diva"
"Snow Angels" - "Elementary" - Winner
"There's the Door" - "Necessary Roughness"

Outstanding TV Movie or Mini-Series

"Behind the Candelabra" - Winner

"In the Flesh"

Outstanding Documentary

"Bridegroom" -- TIE

"Call Me Kuchu" -- TIE

"God Loves Uganda"
"The New Black"
"Valentine Road"

Outstanding Reality Program

"Big Freedia: Queen of Bounce" - Winner

"Cyndi Lauper: Still So Unusual"
"Dream School"
"Project Runway"
"Small Town Security"

Outstanding Talk Show Episode

"Are Gay Parents Different?" - "The Ricki Lake Show"
"First Openly Gay NBA Player Jason Collins and his Family" - "Oprah's Next Chapter"  - Winner
"Fred Rosser" - "The Ellen DeGeneres Show"
"Laverne Cox" - "Totally Biased with W. Kamau Bell"
"Modern Family Values" - "Raising McCain"

Outstanding Daily Drama

"Days of Our Lives" - Winner

Outstanding TV Journalism - Newsmagazine

"Chris to Kristin: A Navy Seal's Secret" - "Anderson Cooper 360"
"India's Third Gender" - "The Stream"
"The Rebounder: The Kenneth Faried Story" - "E:60"
"Transgender at 11: Listening to Jazz" - "20/20"
"The Welcoming Movement" - "To the Contrary"

Outstanding TV Journalism Segment

"Dana Bash: Portman Reverses Position on Gay Marriage" - "Starting Point with Soledad O'Brien"
"Gay Rights at Work" - "msnbc live with Thomas Roberts"
"Pride & Prejudice" - "Melissa Harris-Perry"
"Scouts Dishonor" - "The Last Word with Lawrence O'Donnell"
"Wild Blue Yonder: Scott Hines" - "The Rachel Maddow Show"

Outstanding Newspaper Article

"Boy or Girl? Gender a New Challenge for Schools" by Martha Irvine
"Gay Ex-mayor Who Fled U.S. Awaits Immigration Change" by Jeremy Roebuck
"LGBTQ in the Capital" (series) by Melissa Griffiths - Winner

"Poor Black and Hispanic Men Are the Face of H.I.V." by Donald G. McNeil, Jr.
"Why Bisexuals Stay in the Closet" by Emily Alpert

Outstanding Magazine Article

"The Hidden War Against Gay Teens" by Alex Morris - Winner
"Owning the Middle" by Kate Fagan
"The Perfect Wife" by Ariel Levy
"What's Wrong With Exxon?" by Antonia Juhasz
"Why Gay and Lesbian Couples Pay More" by Carolyn M. Brown

Outstanding Magazine Overall Coverage

The Advocate
ESPN The Magazine
The New Yorker

Outstanding Digital Journalism Article

"How Fallon Fox Became the First Known Transgender Athlete in MMA" by Loretta Hunt
"How One Lawyer Turned the Idea of Marriage Equality into Reality" by Chris Geidner
"Prime Timers: Spotlight on LGBT Seniors" (series)
"Repression and Gay Rights in Russia" by Sean Guillory
"Sex, Lies and HIV: When What You Don't Tell Your Partner is a Crime" by Sergio Hernandez - Winner

Outstanding Digital Journalism - Multimedia

"Bisexuals Get Their Turn In The White House" by Alyona Minkovski
"Coming Out Kicking" by Cyd Zeigler
"Remixing the Trans and Hip Hop Conversation" by Marc Lamont Hill
"To Get Married, They Left Ohio" by Julie Zimmerman on behalf of the Cincinnati Enquirer Editorial Board
"We Are Here: LGBTI in Uganda" by Sunnivie Brydum, D. David Robinson - Winner

Outstanding Blog

Holy Bullies and Headless Monsters
The New Civil Rights Movement - Winner

Outstanding Music Artist

Elton John, "The Diving Board"
Goldfrapp, "Tales of Us"
Lady Gaga, "ARTPOP"
Tegan and Sara, "Heartthrob" - Winner

Vampire Weekend, "Modern Vampires of the City"

Outstanding Comic Book

"Batwoman," written by W. Haden Blackman, J.H. Williams III, Marc Andreyko
"Fearless Defenders," written by Cullen Bunn
"Husbands," written by Jane Espenson, Brad Bell
"Life with Archie," written by Paul Kupperberg
"Young Avengers," written by Kieron Gillen - Winner

Vanguard Award

Jennifer Lopez

Stephen F. Kolzak Award

Laverne Cox

Pioneer Award

Norman Lear

International Advocate for Change Award

Manny de Guerre