CMA Awards 2015

November 4, 2015
Host CMA Awards 2015
Time Network

The CMA Awards are the highest honor that an artist can get on the biggest night in Country Music. Each and every year, for the last 46 years awards have been given out for 12 categories – to packed auditoriums and televised broadcasts. Music lover’s from different parts of the country come together to celebrate this music genre.


CMA was founded in 1958 to promote and celebrate a particular genre – Country Music. The very first Awards show was broadcast on NBC and holds the record for being the longest running ceremony or program on any network. The broadcast rights were taken over by CBS in 1971 and they aired the program till 2006. ABC has rights from 2006 through 2021.


The list of musicians is quite an amazing one and they have changed the landscape completely – Willie Nelson, Garth Brooks, Alan Jackson, Kenny ChesneyFaith HillTaylor SwiftCarrie Underwood are just a few.


There are 12 distinct categories – Entertainer of the Year, Single of the Year, Album of the Year, Song of the Year, Male and Female Vocalists of the Year and so on. Check out the official website for more information on the categories, nomination process and so on.

When and Where:

The 49th Awards ceremony will air live on November 2015 on ABC.

CMA Awards 2015 Nominees & Winners

Entertainer of the Year
Garth Brooks
Luke Bryan
Kenny Chesney
Eric Church
Miranda Lambert

Female Vocalist of the Year
Miranda Lambert
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood
Lee Ann Womack
Kelsea Ballerini

Male Vocalist of the Year
Dierks Bentley
Luke Bryan
Eric Church
Blake Shelton
Chris Stapleton

Album of the Year
Jason Aldean, Old Boots, New Dirt
Kacey Musgraves, Pageant Material
Little Big Town, Pain Killer
Kenny Chesney, The Big Revival
Chris Stapleton, Traveller

New Artist of the Year
Sam Hunt
Maddie & Tae
Chris Stapleton
Kelsea Ballerini
Thomas Rhett

Song of the Year (Awarded to Songwriters)
“American Kids,” Kenny Chesney (Written by Rodney Clawson, Luke Laird, Shane McAnally)
“Girl Crush,” Little Big Town (Written by Lori McKenna, Hillary Lindsey, Liz Rose)
“Like a Cowboy,” Randy Houser (Written by Randy Houser, Brice Long)
“Like a Wrecking Ball,” Eric Church (Written by Eric Church, Casey Beathard)
“Take Your Time,” Sam Hunt (Written by Sam Hunt, Josh Osborne, Shane McAnally)

Single of the Year
“American Kids,” Kenny Chesney
“Girl Crush,” Little Big Town
“I Don’t Dance,” Lee Brice
“Take Your Time,” Sam Hunt
“Talladega,” Eric Church

Vocal Group of the Year
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Rascal Flatts
The Band Perry
Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo of the Year
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae
Thompson Square

Musical Event of the Year
“Django and Jimmie,” Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard
“Lonely Tonight,” Blake Shelton (Feat. Ashley Monroe)
“Raise ‘Em Up,” Keith Urban (Feat. Eric Church)
“Smokin’ and Drinkin’,” Miranda Lambert (Feat. Little Big Town)
“Wild Child,” Kenny Chesney (Feat. Grace Potter)

Music Video of the Year
“Biscuits,” Kacey Musgraves
“Girl Crush,” Little Big Town
“Girl in a Country Song,” Maddie & Tae
“Little Red Wagon,” Miranda Lambert
“Something in the Water,” Carrie Underwood

Musician of the Year
Sam Bush
Jerry Douglas
Paul Franklin
Dann Huff
Mac McAnally