Soul Train Music Awards Histroy

Like any other award ceremony this also occurs once in a year and this award is presented by the producer of Soul Train. The purpose of giving this award is to honor the best in Black Music and entertainment. In this award ceremony, there are musical performances by various R&B and Hip Hop Artists to entertain the audiences and helps to make these awards popular.

These awards get their name from ‘Soul Train’ which is a musical video television program started in year 1971 and also produced by same producer who produced these awards. Soul Train show was very popular and especially famous for its animated opening titles and sequences between musical performances. R&B Singer Janet Jackson holds the record of most number of Soul Train Music Awards followed by Michael Jackson and Whitney Houston. These awards were introduced in year 1987 with host Dionne Warrick and Luther Vandross, and till date maintains its popularity in music world, but last year in 2008 Soul Train Music awards were not held because of the bad health of Don Cornelius (creator/ Host and Executive Producer of Soul Train) and some problem in Soul Train distributor ‘Tribune Entertainment’ due to termination operations.

Few famous categories which comes under these awards are Best R&B/Soul Male Artist, Best R&B/ Soul Female Artist, Best R&B/ Soul Song of the year, Best R&B/Soul Album of the year, Best Rap Album, Best Rap Single, Best Jazz Album, Best Gospel Album, Soul Train Lady of Soul Awards, Heritage Award- Career Achievement, etc. I also want to discuss who all the voting bodies of Soul Train Music Awards; these are active professionals of radio programming and radio artists with records that are charted in previous year of the proceedings.

Also active professionals of music retail and management can become the part of the voting bodies for Soul Train Music Awards. This year, Soul Train Awards were held in 24 November 2009, and aired on BET on 29 November 2009. A big Winner of Soul Train Music award was Beyonce, who won in the categories of Song of the year, Best Female Artist and Album of the year.

Host of these awards were actor Terrence Howard and actress Taraji Henson. Heritage award for career achievement was won by Chaka Khan and Charlie Wilson. Above, I had tried to discuss Soul Train Music Awards with the help of Soul Train, its popularity, History Soul Train Music Awards, Categories of these awards and 2009 Soul Train Music Awards. Hope the above discussion will helps you in understanding what these awards are.